Pumpkin Pie Spice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Many "pumpkin pie spices list 'allspice' as a combination of flavors, when in fact Allspice is a flavor all it's own. http://theepicentre.com/spice/allspice-2/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Too much ginger! I will cut the ginger to two tsp next time. I used it in my pumpkin bread after finding I had used all my premade spice up and all I can taste is the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is a great, solid recipe! Will use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
thank you for this recipe, its just what i needed. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I added more cinnamon. For some reason the ginger overshadowed the other spices. Yuk, so I added more cinnamon and wish I had some cloves because a small dash might have helped as well. But in a nutshell, this is a great little recipe to have on hand so you don't end up spending a fortune on a pre-packaged "pumpkin pie spice" bottle. Just find the perfect mix for your liking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used roasted Saigon cinnamon from McCormick, which is deep and intense. I agree with others who found that the recipe needs ground clove as well. I'll add that the next time. I only made a small batch, for making lattes with, this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I usually find something 'off' about store bought pumpkin pie spices, but this is a base that's easy to make with proportions that are easy to remember. I like cloves AND allspice, so since both are similar, I did **1.5 tsp. of cloves + 1.5 tsp of allspice (1/2 of each) to equal the 3 tsp. of allspice called for. Then I added about *1-2 extra Tbsp. cinnamon to taste. I've put it with delicious results in cinnamon rolls and pumpkin pie at a ratio of about *2 tsp. cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. pie spice, and the spice blend was perfect! No one spice negatively overpowered the others; no, "WOAH, easy on the cloves next time! Can't even taste the ginger!" Obviously, if you don't love cinnamon like I do, you may want to skip my additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Much, much better than McCormick's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made 1 change: I used 2 teaspoons allspice and 1 tsp nutmeg. This was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is an exact match for the little shaker of store bought pumpkin pie spice that I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States