Pumpkin Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is so good. I didn't even use the molasses and use half cup of the evaporated milk. I ate the whole pie in three days. It's worth the extra time on the treadmill:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good. I used baked and pureed butternut squash.....no one ever knows that it is not pumpkin. I actually like the flavor of swuash better than pumpkin. I like the flavor of the molasses, but cut the amount in half, as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I loved the molasses in it, but something was missing. Maybe it needed a bit more sweetness? You know how you like to grab a plain slice of cold pumkin pie for breakfast (I do) and it's so good, well, this one was good with whipped cream for after dinner dessert but didn't have that "plain & still yummy" apeal. Yes on the molasses, but needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My BF said "This is probably the best pumpkin pie I've ever eaten!" Thanks! I did make a couple of minor changes: I used ginger snaps for the crust, added 1 TB pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and ginger, and used fat free evaporated milk. It was awesome! It was so good we ate it up in 3 days (just the 2 of us) and he begged me to make another one. It was so simple to make I didn't mind, and for the second batch I substituded 1/2 of the sugar for no-calorie sugar (like splenda for baking) and didn't notice any difference! This will be my go-to pumpkin pie for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is the best pumpkin pie I ever made! Thank you Marcia! The only thing I add was about 1/2 tsp. ground clove, because I like it, but I'm certain it would be great without it, too. The molasses was the big difference. It's hard to imagine that amount would make that much difference to the taste, but it added a wonderful, rich, flavor that enhanced the pumpkin flavor so well. Thanks for posting....I will not use any other recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. Nice and spicy, with a creamy texture, and fills a deep dish pie generously. Being out of brown sugar, I used white cane sugar (a scant cup), and pure Cane Syrup since I was also out of molasses. Cane syrup, what the British call "golden syrup" has a light molasses flavor. I also added a pinch of allspice and about a teaspoon of fresh grated nutmeg. My husband said it's one of the best pumpkin pies he's had. Thanks for posting the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made it for the 1st time came out Great wouldn't change a thing wont be buy them from store anymore. Family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iheartcooking247
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is wonderful! I made it yesterday, and ate it today. I put some whipped cream on top, and it was amazing! Everyone loved it! It wasn't the prettiest looking pie, but it was the best tasting pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iheartcooking247

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by chicbunny
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
If you want a very spicy pumpkin flavor, this is the recipe for it. The texture is very creamy, the molasses gives it a rich flavor. I prefer less spicy because this was a lot of ginger. I would go lighter on the molasses if I was going to do it again. Overall, good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My 11yr old son has been wanting to make a pumpkin pie out of 1 of our remaining Halloween pumpkins on the steps for 3 wks. So he & Dad dug the insides out of one last night and baked it. We pureed it this morn. in a blender (he loved that) and this recipe was very easy for him to read and follow. I have never had a pumpkin pie from scratch b4 or one w/Molasses. We both love Molasses and it gives the pie a more vibrant flavor. It was a BIG HIT today, Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it and I can definately say it was the best pumpkin pie I have eaten! So much tastier than an ordinary pumpkin pie. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!-at any time you have the craveing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen625

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States