Pumpkin Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've made this version with molasses all my life, my family doesn't consider it "real" without it. The only things I add are 1/4 tsp each ground cloves and mace. Fat Free or Low Fat eval milk works just as well and no one seems to notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
A pumpkin pie recipe with molasses---YES! This is how we do it in New England. The temperature in this recipe is too high, though. Bake the pie at 425 for only 15 minutes or so. Then turn the oven down to 350 to finish the baking. To know your pie is done, give it a little shake and the very center should jiggle a little, or take its temperature---should read about 175 degrees F. The filling will still cook a little when removed from the oven. If you wait until the center is totally set, it has overcooked. You will get cracks, especially along the edges of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is definitely heavy on the spices. As written, the pumpkin flavor is masked by the cinnamon, ginger and molasses. I used a 29 oz. can of pumpkin puree, only 1 Tbls. of molasses and 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar. I thought these changes were nearly perfect. However, my boyfriend said "it could use more spice". Proof you can't please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This pie was easy to make and delicious!! The only changes were subbing almond milk for evaporated (needed non dairy) and adding a dash of both cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I loved the rich flavour of this pie. So far my favourite pumpkin pie recipe. I did use cream instead of evap milk because I didn't have any on hand, and I baked it at a lower temperature. My oven would have fried it to a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I've not tried this precise recipe, but it's very similar to one I've used for years. Very good, IMHO, though not to everyone's taste. I recommend using 2 cups of FRESH pumpkin puree. The fresh pumpkin and molasses give the pie a a more rustic texture and robust taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious flavor with the addition of molasses. This pie was a hit and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Medford, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Best pumpkin pie I have ever had! All of my family has loved it! My husband raved about it and asked for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was the first time I'd made a pumpkin pie, and it turned out awesome! Am about to make it again :-) I used fresh pumpkin and blackstrap mollases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was very good but very spicey. I will make it again, but will cut back on the cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States