Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I'm somewhat mixed on this recipe... If you follow the instruction exactly, you will have a very undercooked pie. I cooked it at 450 for 10 minutes and then turned it down to 325...Well, it took way more than 30 minutes to cook. It took about 1 hour & 15 minutes before it was done. It's not a very firm pie...It's very soft but it cuts up nicely. I tasted it and it's VERY GOOD. If you don't mind waiting for what seems forever...You'll love the outcome. Just be sure to expect a long wait! My grandma said it was the best pumpkin pie that she has ever tasted...And that's saying a lot, she is painfully truthful on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
A good basic pumpkin pie. After the initial 10min. at 450, my pie needed to be baked for 60min. at 325 in order to be done. As other reviewers suggested, I just kept checking with the knife until it finally came out clean. I agree with one of the reviewers that says the pie tastes much better the next day, after chilling in the refrigerator for a night. Next time, I will also use more spices than are called for in the original recipe, though that is just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Excellent, deliciously perfect flavor! Only the cooking time is more like 1 1/2 hours total after reducing the oven temp to 325. Important: do NOT eat this pie warm...it tastes kind of "vegetable-y" straight out of the oven. My (honest) guests all thought the same thing. However, it was AWESOME the day after. Chill it overnight, enjoy it cold with some fresh whipped cream, and you are going to be in pumpkin heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was delicious, I made it twice. The first time, was the exact recipe, no straying, and it was good. The second time I added vanilla, cloves, and allspice. Also, I think there was a mistake in the directions and going off of what everyone else said, I put it in for 450 for 10 minutes, then at 375 (not 325) for 30 minutes. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I first used this recipe for thanksgiving. My family loved it. Now I have to make the pumpkin pie for all the family get togethers. Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Hello! Admitedly, I hate pumpkin pie. I eat one piece a year because I feel like I have too - I can't even say I eat a piece, I eat a bite. So, I made this the night before as all suggested. Let it sit in the fridge and this was GOOD. I actually ate 1/2 a piece! Could I have gone without, yes, BUT, for those of us that really hate pumpkin, this is at least palatable. My husband on the other hand LOVED, LOVED it. So, it's a keeper (but if you truly don't like pumpkin, don't expect a miracle. You will STILL not like pumpkin.) It makes a lot, but I did use a regular pie dish, I filled it waaaaayyyy up and still just had a bit left, but it made a nice full pie. I don't know how the other reviewers were able to make two, those would have been pretty skimply. Also, get the vanilla cool whip too on it! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
FANTASTIC - made 3 pies using ready made pie shells in the aluminum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was the best tasting pumpkin pie I have ever had. I will search for a recipe no longer. It had a nice sweet flavor, very old fashioned tasting!!! :) However, it did require longer cooking time, 60 minutes at 325. I took your advice to triple it, and ended up with TONS of filling. I was able to make 4 pies and 6 tarts. Maybe using cake pans instead of pie plates would hold more liquid, anyhow it was great. Left overnight the flavors blended and it just tasted amazing!!!!!LOVE the taste and texture, absolutely perfect, thankyou so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
One of the very best pumpkin pies that I have ever ate. My boyfriend absolutely loved this pie, and proved it by nearly eating the whole thing by himself. Be sure to use a deep dish pie shell because it is alot of filling mixture, which I still left some out. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holiday, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I am a new baker, but, this recipe makes people believe I have been baking it for years!! Some family and friends are not Pumpkin Pie lovers and some don't even like it, but they love this recipe! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVMonFos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States