Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Big hit. My guests all had seconds and said with real pumpkin they could never go back to canned. I used extra spices, as suggested, but I think I overdid the ginger or something for my own tastes. No one else noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Super easy to make and tastes wonderful. There is plenty for one pie. The pie is a little more cake-like than normal pumpkin pie - but that made it all the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I'm somewhat mixed on this recipe... If you follow the instruction exactly, you will have a very undercooked pie. I cooked it at 450 for 10 minutes and then turned it down to 325...Well, it took way more than 30 minutes to cook. It took about 1 hour & 15 minutes before it was done. It's not a very firm pie...It's very soft but it cuts up nicely. I tasted it and it's VERY GOOD. If you don't mind waiting for what seems forever...You'll love the outcome. Just be sure to expect a long wait! My grandma said it was the best pumpkin pie that she has ever tasted...And that's saying a lot, she is painfully truthful on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I don't know how this pie recipe has gotten such great reviews. I made this pie exactly as instructed except with the addition of ground cloves. The flavor was fine.I had read all the reviews so I did anticipate the longer cooking time but no one complained about what that long, long cooking time did to the crust. My usually perfect crust was WAY over cooked even under the pumpkin mixture and I will definately continue on my search for the perfect homemade pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Berish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was the first pumpkin pie that I ever made. It turned out perfect. From reviews, I changed the second cook time from 30 to 60 minutes. I also made my crust and pre-baked it, to avoid it getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Made this exactly as directed. I don't like pumpkin pie, so I did not try any, but everyone who had a piece liked it alot. Had to bake for about twice as long as directed to have knife come out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Fabulous! Just the right texture, creamy and delicious. It's not very spicy so if you like it with more cinnamon, etc. definitely kick it up a little. Took mine 10+60 minutes as another reviewer mentioned, probably could have been a little longer too. Just be patient. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Hello! Admitedly, I hate pumpkin pie. I eat one piece a year because I feel like I have too - I can't even say I eat a piece, I eat a bite. So, I made this the night before as all suggested. Let it sit in the fridge and this was GOOD. I actually ate 1/2 a piece! Could I have gone without, yes, BUT, for those of us that really hate pumpkin, this is at least palatable. My husband on the other hand LOVED, LOVED it. So, it's a keeper (but if you truly don't like pumpkin, don't expect a miracle. You will STILL not like pumpkin.) It makes a lot, but I did use a regular pie dish, I filled it waaaaayyyy up and still just had a bit left, but it made a nice full pie. I don't know how the other reviewers were able to make two, those would have been pretty skimply. Also, get the vanilla cool whip too on it! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I first used this recipe for thanksgiving. My family loved it. Now I have to make the pumpkin pie for all the family get togethers. Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States