Pumpkin Pie French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe! It completely tasted like pumpkin pie. It was a great blend though. Because you could really taste the pumpkin pie flavor in the midst of the traditional french toast. I used another recipe with this called Cinnamon Syrup and the combination was fabulous! I absolutely recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was good, but I didn't taste the pumpkin pie flavor... it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a very delicious and sweet breakfast treat! I made this for my husband and I this morning and he LOVED it! It was a bit sweet, but that's probably because I put too much syrup on it. :) I used pumpkin butter instead of pumpkin puree for a little extra spice, and didn't have any half-and-half so I used 1/2 whipping cream and 1/2 skim milk. This is a great fall/winter breakfast, and I'm sure little ones would love it too. Thank you for sharing-this is so creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A nice change of pace from traditional French toast. Even though I stirred the batter though between bread dippings, the walnuts tended to slide to the bottom of the batter, so that the first pieces of toast had few nuts and the last ones had the bulk of them. To compensate next time, I will use a serrated spoon and scoop up some walnut pieces from the batter to sprinkle on the tops of breads as they are lowered onto the griddle. I tried this out toward the end and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
MMMMMM!!! this was SOOOOOOO good!!! I made it on a cold, fall morning and it was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baker lover: Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used this recipe more for the idea than anything. I subbed skim milk for and made my own pumpkin pie spice (dashes of cinnamon, ginger, allspice, nutmeg). Can't really speak to the quality of the recipes proportions as I eyeballed it, but it made for a wonderful variation on regular french toast and was a great use for extra pumpkin puree (without having to make a second pie!). Thanks for the idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was wonderful! I used plain half and half, but it I am going to try it again with Gingerbread flvaored creamer. The pumpkin mixture absorbed nicely into the bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I used organic eggs, fat free half-n-half, Trader Joe's pumpkin puree and I actually used all pumpkin pie spice which was 1 1/4. My kids really enjoyed this. I made a homemade maple-vanilla syrup to drizzle over the top and I'll tell you...they ate all but one piece. I tried a bit and thought it was pretty good, though I might like to increase the pumpkin to a half cup and maybe cut the half-n-half to a quarter cup next time to REALLY taste the pumpkin. Using the maple-vanilla syrup with it was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I have made other pumpkin french toast recipes, and none compare to this one. I think what sets this one apart must be the cream, the pumpkin pie spice and vanilla extract. I could taste the pumpkin in this recipe and the flavor overall was great. I used whole grain bread as I wanted to make this as a healthy breakfast for my family however, if I was making this simply to indulge tastebuds, I would go for slices of french bread and top it all off with generous dollops of spiced whipped cream, or a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a good drizzle of maple syrup, as suggested. The whole family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Used milk instead of cream and added the walnuts on each plate because my kids don't all like them. My daughter said that this was the best french toast ever, but that it didn't really taste like pumpkin. She loves cinnamon, so I think that is what she enjoyed so much. This makes a great dipping batter and the bread cooked up beautifully. Plus, it smelled soooooo good cooking this morning. Served with fresh whipped cream and syrup - this is a great breakfast for the fall months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States