Pumpkin Pie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe exact, just replacing the walnuts with macadamia nuts. Covered with foil for 45 minutes (as others suggested) and uncovered the remaining time. The topping became browned on edges and so I covered edges with foil, allowing the middle to remain uncovered because it was still soupy. I baked for over 1 hour and 30 minutes, and it finally appeared done. I left it sitting to cool. Cut into it later and it completely crumbled apart, seeming like it could have baked longer. I love pumpkin, and this was edible, but it is not the Pumpkin Crunch that is famous on our island :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used pumpkin pie mix (less sugar) & 4 eggs and a dash of pumpkin pie spice and for a twist I sprinkled cinnamon chocolate chips & pecans on top . WOW to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Fry
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I thought this recipe was simple and very tasty! I didn't have a large can of pumpkin, so I substituted apple sauce for the pumpkin I was missing. It seemed to work out fine! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It's one of our family's favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Used a spice cake mix, (did not have a yellow) was just wonderful, super easy, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
RAVE REVIEWS I also have a offset to the "sweet" if you like cranberries Try this- grab a bag of fresh cranberry, follow the fresh cranberry sauce recipe, But reduce sugar to 3/4 cup and add in nutmeg 1/2tsp. when cranberry sauce is finished take 1 tbs. of the whole cranberry sauce and place into the center of imagined square of a portion, in the 9x13 in dish--- this cranberry sauce adds a bit of tart to the pie/cake:) Hope you enjoy! Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Neto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Since I refuse to make pumpkin pie (family joke) I found this recipe and everyone absolutely loves it. Of course while enjoying it family has to bring up the pumpkin pie disaster of 1964. It was so bad not only the family wouldn't eat it, the dog barked at it. Everyone loves this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanneb61

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The only tip I have to is make sure all the cake topping is covered with butter (I found it best to make my cake concave in the center). Batter where the butter cannot spread will stay powdery and be a bit of a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is four stars to me the way it's written, but I found a better way after making this a million times. It always bugged me to use so much margarine or butter on top, just to moisten the cake mix. But if i tried cutting back the amount of margarine, it turned out dry and yucky on top. So next i tried half a cup of margarine melted and 1/4 cup of water and that made it soggy and yucky too. So I tried softening only one stick of margarine in the microwave and then mixing it in the cake mix with a fork in a large bowl, like a streusel topping until it looked like coarse crumbs. Then sprinkle it with your fingers on top. It turned out looking much better and crumbly looking and nicely browned but saved half a stick of butter or margarine. It also improved the presentation appearance of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Amazing! I didn't use the walnuts because I didn't have any and used white cake mix instead of the yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States