Pumpkin Pie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This turned out great! I most definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Mushy and bland. Cake topping way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Really like it but made some pretty drastic changes: Halved the sugar; two eggs; 4t pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon; no salt; doubled the pecans and left whole; halved the butter (if you melt and "froth" the butter til slightly brown first, its taste is greatly enhanced); and used about 1/6 of a spice cake mix on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I found a recipe almost exactly the same in a school fundraiser cookbook, and it is, indeed, to die for! I don't like pumpkin pie, but I LOVE this, as does everyone who tries it! The only difference from this recipe is that the original called for pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. It makes for a more complex, pumpkin pie-ey flavor. I've lost the original recipe, so I'm going to have to make it to taste, and then update my review with a recommended substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
If you love pumpkin pie but hate soggy piecrust this is the one to try! I spice the filling with my own favorites...cinnamon, ginger and cloves. But omit the salt...I don't see why you need it. I would like to try other flavors of cake mix. Might be good with spice cake?? Definitely better served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I was given this recipe years ago from a close family friend! Absolutely, the most wonderful way to combine a pie and cake...I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolDiane Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
loved this I used spice cake mix instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have made this several times. It is delicious. I also take a container of cool whip and mix in a little nutmeg and cinnamon to the cool whip to serve on top. AWESOME RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I didn't add the pecans, but maybe that would have helped. I did drizzle quite a bit of butter over the top, but every place that didn't get butter was just raw cake mix in the finished product. I thought it would soak up the pumpkin mixture. Maybe I should have patted it down into the pumpkin mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotspunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great flavor. Crust was very thick and difficult to cut without making a mess. Inverted onto a plate and took care of that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States