Pumpkin Pie Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used spice cake instead of yellow cake. It was a hit!!! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is the ONLY pumpkin anything my wife will eat. I make it every year at Thanksgiving and Christmas for her. She loves it and it is ridiculously yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memoriesinprint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read alot of reviews b4 making this recipe. i can't believe it got so many good reviews. For a 29 oz can of pumpkin, 1/2 cup of sugar was no way sweet enough for the filling..I had to add 1 cup of sugar and 13 cup of Stevia to get it sweet enough. There was also not enough evaporated milk for the ammt of pumpkin..I added the whole 12 oz can. I also had to add 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice to make the flavor better. The crust, after taking out 1 cup for the topping had way too much butter in it. I would have used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and it would have been plenty. The topping was a nice addition to the recipe. I added coconut and almonds to it and it was really good. It turned out great with my tweeks..but the recipe as written wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
A woman at my church made this last week for a potluck, and oh my stars . . . my friend and I could not stop raving about it! She emailed me the link to the recipe in an email that stated "this should be called Pumpkin Heaven!" So true! This is a rich and yummy dessert -- autumn on a plate! Can't wait to make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was fantastic. The only change I will make next time is to use 2 eggs instead of 3. I could taste the eggs, which I didn't like. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaffyTree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I SUBSTITUTED EGG NOG FOR THE CREAM...TURNED OUT GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Was ok...nothing to write home about. I did add some walnuts on the top, and put 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice in the filling. Was hoping for a little more pizazz out of it. Will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I was overall disappointed with this recipe. I felt the brown sugar overwhelmed every other flavor, including the pumpkin. This was good for a non-chocolate dessert choice, but won't be a requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very good. Used whipped topping with it as suggested in the comments, but it's so sweet it wasn't necessary. Definitely doesn't have a cake texture, but tastes so much like pumpkin pie! Little soggy the next day, but otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I was looking for a good recipe using pumpkin and this is what I found. My husband and son loved it. We took some right out of the oven over to the neighbors house. They also loved it. The middle has the consistancy of pumpkin pie, and the crust is like a slightly crunchy cake. I added some chopped walnuts to the top. I may add nuts to the crust too next time for added crunch. I also added some nutmeg and ginger to the filling. I used butter instead of margarine. I cut back on both sugars and it was still plenty sweet enough. We had it with vanilla ice cream...it took some of the sting out of losing to the Yankee's last night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States