Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I have made this quite a bit- it is my favorite- however I have found using Libby's pumpkin pie mix and eliminating the sugar and spices is much easier! Here is my version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix 4 -beaten eggs 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk 1 box of dry yellow cake mix 1 cup melted margarine 1 cup chopped nuts This is truly a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I tried this over the holidays and it was simply awesome! After reading the reviews, I decided to take some advice and use Libby's pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin, sugar and spices. I also used a butter pecan flavored cake mix. My version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix, 4 -beaten eggs, 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk, 1 box of dry butter pecan cake mix, 1 cup melted butter, 1 cup chopped nuts. Not at all healthy, but truly a 5 star recipe for taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I love pumpkin pie, and this is a great twist. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to mix the cake mix and butter together before topping on the pumpkin mixture. I loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Thanks to the person that posted this recipe. I might have kept it a secret if it were mine. ;o) I made this two nights in a row...once for a Thanksgiving party at work and once for Thanksgiving dinner the following day. If you think baking a cake one night and then starting again and baking it the next night sounds like a lot of work you're mistaken. This cake takes 10 minutes tops to throw together--very easy! I can't even begin to tell you how much people at both events raved about this cake! There wasn't a single leftover piece either day. Sooooo delicious! I will make it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this for a church Supper and I took some 'hints' and I used half of a carrot cake mix, added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Used all of the butter and then I combined over a cup of both walnuts and pecans PLUS some coconut and made a good stresudel type topping and it won 'rave reviews'! This was definitely a WINNER. Thanks, CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I have made this 3 times and each time it was wonderful even using low fat ingredients. Try using different cake mixes as spice and caramel work really well with pumpkin. I will try carrot cake next time. You can even use 1/2 the cake mix and use the rest for muffins. You have to make sure the cake mix all gets wet. I am taking this along with traditional pumpkin pie for TG. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I love this recipe. I had a an alternate version that states to flip the cake upside down after it cools and top the cake with a frosting made of 1 pkg. cream cheese, 1/2 c, powdered suger, and 1 cup (or more) of cool whip. Upside down the cake can be served as dessert bars, I sprinkle the frosting with a few more chopped walnuts to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. My family prefers this over regular pumpkin pie. I always use spice cake mix instead of yellow cake mix and serve with lots of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
i don't really ever like pumpkin pie, but this was pretty darn good! My roommates thought that it was terrific though- especially warm with ice cream. I didn't put the nuts on top, but there were macadamia nuts in the ice cream that I used- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOODOOCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made this with my six year old son. It was easy and not very messy. This was a big hit at our thanksgiving dinner. I had to write down the recipe many times. The only problem I ran into was that the baking time was a little off. I think it needs a little more than 1 hour. Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States