Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
So easy and amazing. Great all year round, I like it best chilled or at room temp. No one at a potluck expects this and it's always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe received mixed reviews at my house for Thanksgiving. My husband liked it, my mother thought it was okay, and I did not like it. I thought it was much too sweet, and I did not like the crumb topping at all (I used a spice cake mix). I followed the recommendations of a few others and used the Libby's pie mix and cut out the sugar, salt and spice. I am not sure whether using canned pumpkin and adding the sugar and spices would have been better, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I just tried this "cake" for an afternoon get together with friends. It was a hit! My guests raved about it and wanted the receipe. This is a great holiday dessert that will easily become a tradition. Instead of yellow cake mix, I used a spice cake mix that I had on hand and didn't add any additional spices. It makes it that much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Maybe with a different cake flavor this would have been okay but I threw most of it out..the bottom pumpkin layer was really good and just like pumpkin pie but the cake layer tasted ok on the first bite but as you went on it was almost bitter ..I felt it should have had sugar in it or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this wonderful dessert and took it to both my workplace and my husbands and got rave reviews on it. It is so easy to make and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is excellent. I would only do one thing different.I make a dump cake recipe that is the same concept, except that you slice two sticks of butter and place the slices on top of the cake mix and nuts and then bake. This would take care of the areas that do not get butter/stay dry. Next time I will do that and it will be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almadedmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this exactly as written. Instead of canned puree I used actual puree I made. The reason I gave this three stars instead of four was this~ I wish there were a way to make this cake look more appetizing! Every time I make it I always come home with more than half of the cake~ and it's not due to taste. It's because it just doesn't look appetizing. I wonder what I can do to make it look different? The taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used yams in place of the pumpkin and it was delicious, I do this all the time rather than use the canned pumpkin and using fresh pumpkin is rather daunting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This dessert was really great, especially perfect for anyone who is not a fan of traditional pie crust. I accidentally bought the pie filling instead of plain pumpkin, so I followed the directions on the back of the can instead which called for one less egg and a little less evaporated milk, and then added a few more shakes of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. It still turned out great! I mixed the cake mix with the butter instead of just crumbling it on top and then pouring the butter over, like some others suggested. I also don't like nuts in my desserts, so I didn't use them. Still, my family agreed, it's much better than traditional pumpkin pie, definitely a keeper! The only problem I have with it is that it's not really a cake at all, and so the title is a bit misleading. I call it "pumpkin crumble" since it's just pumpkin pie filling with a cake mixture crumbled on the top. Super delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States