Pumpkin Pie Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was a big hit at our Christmas party! Everyone raved! I was a little nervous about using the whole box of cake mix, it seemed too much but it worked out great. I used 1 c. melted butter( I had a similar recipe that used that amount) and used a tablespoon to evenly cover the topping. Very important to cover all dry spots. I baked for 55 min. and it was too long in my oven, I will bake less next time. Watch so it doesn't burn from all the butter. Great recipe and easy. Got more requests to make again for Xmas eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I am one of those who loves the pumpkin pie filling, but scrapes it out of the pie shell, since I'm not that fond of the crust. The topping is delicious. Hadn't thought to make a "dump cake" out of pumpkin. This is upside-down pumpkin pie, only better, since it has such a wonderful topping. It was a big hit at Thanksgiving, and I am already making it again for another get-together this weekend. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This recipe is okay, but I found the topping to be too sweet, as most cake mixes are. Also, you'll coat the dry mix more evenly if you mix it with the melted butter before sprinkling. Not a bad recipe, certainly easier than pie, but I'd go for a slightly less sweet/greasy topping, more like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I tried this over the holidays and it was simply awesome! After reading the reviews, I decided to take some advice and use Libby's pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin, sugar and spices. I also used a butter pecan flavored cake mix. My version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix, 4 -beaten eggs, 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk, 1 box of dry butter pecan cake mix, 1 cup melted butter, 1 cup chopped nuts. Not at all healthy, but truly a 5 star recipe for taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I served this to my husband's family who said they weren't big pumpkin fans; his brother ate nearly 1/2 the cake himself! I used pecans and it was great. It's good with either whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I have made this quite a bit- it is my favorite- however I have found using Libby's pumpkin pie mix and eliminating the sugar and spices is much easier! Here is my version: 1 - 29 oz. can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix 4 -beaten eggs 1 - 13 oz. can evaporated milk 1 box of dry yellow cake mix 1 cup melted margarine 1 cup chopped nuts This is truly a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
We make this delicious dessert every fall, it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
What an easy dessert. Made it for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and everybody loved it. Great crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe. It's quick and easy to make. Most of all everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Thanks to the person that posted this recipe. I might have kept it a secret if it were mine. ;o) I made this two nights in a row...once for a Thanksgiving party at work and once for Thanksgiving dinner the following day. If you think baking a cake one night and then starting again and baking it the next night sounds like a lot of work you're mistaken. This cake takes 10 minutes tops to throw together--very easy! I can't even begin to tell you how much people at both events raved about this cake! There wasn't a single leftover piece either day. Sooooo delicious! I will make it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States