Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this in a 9 x 13 pan and added an oatmeal crumb topping. It was delicious and a small piece was a sufficient serving so the yield of 24 was accurate. It was easy to cut in the pan and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is sooo yummy! I used whole wheat flour, reduced some ingredients to.. 2 c sugar, 1/2 c oil, and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
loved this recipe. I was looking for lower calories and couldn't see using 3 cups of sugar. I cut it to under two cups, cut eggs to 3, 3/4 cup oil. I weakened and added 1/2 cup walnuts.well it turned out great! Next time I am going to cut more sugar and egg and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I cut this recipe in half to make 12 muffins instead of one loaf. I did lighten it up and health it up a bit. I used whole wheat flour, 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1/4 cup homemade organic applesauce, two egg whites in place of one egg and brewed unsweetened chai in place of the plain water. I did sprinkle just a touch of brown sugar over the top just to make them a little prettier. These took about 20 minutes in a 350* oven and they came out perfect. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is fantastic! My husband is super picky so I wasn't sure if he would eat it, but he ate both loaves and asked me to make more :) I had no eggs, so I used 1 cup of applesauce and increased the baking powder to 2 tsp. It came out so moist and we didn't even miss the eggs, so I'm just not going to put them in anymore. Also, I added another shake or two of pumpkin pie spice, because it is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this just as the recipe directed and my review is based on doing just that, with no changes. I found this to be moist (but really, how often do you come across a dry pumpkin bread, especially with a cup of oil?), pretty, and with the compact but tender crumb you'd expect. It also had a deep, pumpkin color. Choosing this recipe was merely for the reason that it called for less spice than I'm used to, and no nuts or raisins. I wanted to try something different. Unfortunately, pretty loaf as it is, a loaf that admittedly turns out perfectly, it is only mildly pumpkin flavored, and only mildly spiced. In a word, it's basically kind of blah. Moist, beautiful, but blah. Amp up the spices, or add raisins, craisins, nuts or SOMETHING, and this could easily be improved to at least 4-star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent, enjoyed every bite of it. warm with whip, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
fiance said it was the best bread i had ever made. so moist and so delicious, will need to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
very good and very moist. took some to dorothy and jean. jean called to say it was excellent. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My rating is based on a few changes I made, but I'm sure the original recipe is wonderful too! I use whole wheat flour to make it healthier and half applesauce/half oil. I also like to cut down on the sugar, but use orange juice instead of the water. As suggested by other reviewers I also increase the spices slightly. The bread turns out moist and very flavorful! My whole family loves it, kids included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States