Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I tried this, substituting oil with applesauce (calls for a lot of oil!). Next time I'll cut down on the sugar. The applesauce was unsweetened, but I think it still made the bread overall a little too sweet. Good and moist, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this mostly by the exact recipe but because so many people said to use applesauce instead of oil I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce. Also, because a number of people indicated to add extra spices because it wasn't very pumpkin-y I added an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a couple of dashes of nutmeg and cinnoman. I cooked it at 375 for 65 minutes (I have a gas stove so most of my cooking requires higher temps) and the bread came out nice. Looked pretty and smelled wonderful. Now for the bad - it REALLY did NOT taste like anything. The spices gave it a wonderful aroma but this bread really did not have a good taste or flavor. It was too bad because with the great smell I was looking forward to a tasty bread but this did not meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellant. Moist great flavor. Made 4 big breads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
VERY GOOD...nice fall flavor...I scaled the recipe to 3/4 and only used two eggs, 1/4 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce, and the whole can of pumpkin...this was SO moist...could use even more pumpkin and a little more spice...thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was a great recipe. I made one 9x5 loaf and 4 mini loaves. The mini loaves were done about 15 minutes before the larger loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I rated this bread a 4 star because I took other's recommendation to make some adjustments to the recipe for more healthier eats. I used 1 3/4 c. of all-purpose flour and 1 3/4 c. of whole wheat flour, added extra sprinkles of cinnamon on top of pumpkin pie spices, used 1 c. brown sugar, 1 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. molasses and 1 c. applesauce to substitute for vegetable oil. Everyone even my food-fussy friend absolutely loved the bread! I would try to use lower temperature for longer time since crust was more cooked than inside part. Top with cream cheese was like a cherry on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Easy and delicious. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This bread is so moist! I used pumpkin puree that I made at home instead of canned pumpkin and added 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Turned out great. Next time I think I will add nuts and try some of the healthier alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I must agree with a previous poster - 1 cup of oil is far too much! I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also used 2 cups of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar instead. I will venture into cutting back the sugar too and see how the recipe fairs with less sugar. All in all - this may not be the healthiest bread but it came out DELICIOUS! Batter made 24 muffins (paper liners filled to the top) - baked for 25 minutes (be sure to rotate the pans every 10 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Oh this is pumpkin heaven right here! Used 1.5 cups of wheat and 2 cups of white flour and added 1.5 cups of semi-sweet choc chips for the last ingredient. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States