Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this twice! My rule for trying out new recipes is to make exactly like the recipe is written so I can review the actual recipe and not my changes to a recipe. As written this recipe is a true winner. I did halve the recipe since I could only find one of my loaf pans, but there's only two of us so that's not necessarily a bad thing. The second run I added pecans to the batter and sprinkled the top with raw sugar that retains it's crunchiness after baking. The recipe was still wonderful and a bit more unique. I would suggest that if you are sprinkling with the sugar to make in a muffin tin as it was a little harder to slice and keep the topping in place. My gas oven has convection bake so I cooked at the stated temp but needed to add an additional 10 minutes. This is normal for my oven so not a big deal. The loaf came out nice and chewy on the outside and very moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Just finished putting in oven. I also modified this recipe. I replaced the canola oil for olive oil. So I will see what happens. I love this recipe because it's simple. In the oven in 30 minutes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious and moist! Made a couple minor changes based off others reviews: used 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 20 oz fresh pumpkin puree, 1 c. white sugar, 2 c. light brown sugar and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top before putting in oven to give a little extra sweetness to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Simoncelli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I've replaced part of the oil as a top review suggested, but it was too sweet and dense..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stellouni Mantik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I didn't have any pumpkin but I had an enormous butternut squash, so I cooked that mashed it and substituted it for the pumpkin. I added a bit more spice because I like it that way. The kids and their friends loved it. Good thing I made 3 loaves. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Fabulous! Substituted 1 1/2c Equal for the white sugar and apple pie spice blend for the pumpkin pie spice. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loviems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I am writing this review after having tasted the bread a few hours out of the oven. Per instructions, it is best the next day, so take this with a grain of salt. I did make one change, substituting the 3/4 cup water for 3/4 of pumpkin puree, and I used homemade puree. I thought the bread was OK. It was moist; pretty much all breads of this type are. The flavor was missing something in my opinion. Dunno, it just didn't come close enough to pumpkin pie to warrant the label. I've made a ton of pumpkin bread recipes. This one comes somewhere in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was kind of disappointed with how bland this bread was. I was hoping with the comments that I had read that it would be awesome but it wasn't. It was definitely moist. I used part oil and part apple sauce. I was kind of worried about the amount of sugar in the recipe and did not want to substitute for the sugar for fear that it would affect the taste. You want pumpkin pie bread to taste as awesome as pumpkin pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
AMAZING! I love this recipe, and my co-workers couldn't get enough of this either. This also works as a great recipe for muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving because my brother couldn't have our pumpkin pie (nut allergy). Now I just make it year round! Great in muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States