Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I have been making this for 5+ years now. This recipe is great as is. But I have learned to tweek it depending on my needs each time. I sometimes use applesauce to replace part of the oil. I often use separate spices instead of pumpkin pie spice so I can change if I want more cinnamon flavor or ginger etc. Also can use brown sugar for part of sugar or decrease sugar. This recipe is great and forgiving if you want to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was exactly what I was looking for, easy and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
OH MY GOSH- is this good!!! I made it exactly as it said, and it was fantastic. Sooooo moist and the flavor was outstanding. I gave 1/2 loaf to my mom & dad, and they are hooked too. Thanks Tanja- this one made it into my recipe box at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used fresh pumpkin (steamed until soft, mashed and then drained) which worked fine without any water, still very moist. I followed someone else's idea and used a bundt cake pan, which worked nicely. I reduced the sugar a bit (more like 2 generous cups) and used an overripe banana and some more pumpkin puree along with oil to make a cup. Not much pumpkin taste, but I will put that down to using up a regular Halloween pumpkin rather than a culinary pumpkin. Might boost the rating if I try again with a tastier pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I loved this bread! It was my first time making pumpkin bread and it turned out beautifully. I only had aluminum 7x4 loaf pans and this recipe gave me 3 loaves. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice and used 2 tsps cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and ginger. (I didn't have cloves.) I also added walnuts. Like other reviewers suggested, I'll probably cut back a little on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was outstanding, but needed an additional crunch - maybe add walnuts or chocolate chips next time? Other than that, it was addictive. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This has a good flavor and I should have stuck to the recipe exactly. Unfortunately I made muffins instead of a loaf, and they were way too sticky against the paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made a really healthy version and it's still mouth watering. Substitutions: all purpose flour --> whole wheat flour 3 cup sugar --> 1 cup agave syrup, 1 cup maple syrup. You could cut this down more, as it was still very sweet. 1 cup vegetable oil --> 1 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce 1/2 cup water --> 1/4 cup water. 1 teaspoon salt --> 1/2 teaspoon salt. I made muffins with half the batter and a loaf with the other half. It would have been even better if I'd sprinkled chopped pecans or walnuts on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
It was great the next day like said.....yummy stuff, I myself could not get enough of this bread! Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Awesome! Great flavor - I did not add a thing. Made a great dessert: I cut one inch slices, slightly warmed them, put a scoop of vanilla ice cream and sprinkled the ice cream with a little cinnamon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States