Pumpkin Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this mostly by the exact recipe but because so many people said to use applesauce instead of oil I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce. Also, because a number of people indicated to add extra spices because it wasn't very pumpkin-y I added an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a couple of dashes of nutmeg and cinnoman. I cooked it at 375 for 65 minutes (I have a gas stove so most of my cooking requires higher temps) and the bread came out nice. Looked pretty and smelled wonderful. Now for the bad - it REALLY did NOT taste like anything. The spices gave it a wonderful aroma but this bread really did not have a good taste or flavor. It was too bad because with the great smell I was looking forward to a tasty bread but this did not meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellant. Moist great flavor. Made 4 big breads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
VERY GOOD...nice fall flavor...I scaled the recipe to 3/4 and only used two eggs, 1/4 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce, and the whole can of pumpkin...this was SO moist...could use even more pumpkin and a little more spice...thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was a great recipe. I made one 9x5 loaf and 4 mini loaves. The mini loaves were done about 15 minutes before the larger loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I rated this bread a 4 star because I took other's recommendation to make some adjustments to the recipe for more healthier eats. I used 1 3/4 c. of all-purpose flour and 1 3/4 c. of whole wheat flour, added extra sprinkles of cinnamon on top of pumpkin pie spices, used 1 c. brown sugar, 1 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. molasses and 1 c. applesauce to substitute for vegetable oil. Everyone even my food-fussy friend absolutely loved the bread! I would try to use lower temperature for longer time since crust was more cooked than inside part. Top with cream cheese was like a cherry on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Easy and delicious. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This bread is so moist! I used pumpkin puree that I made at home instead of canned pumpkin and added 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Turned out great. Next time I think I will add nuts and try some of the healthier alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I must agree with a previous poster - 1 cup of oil is far too much! I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also used 2 cups of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar instead. I will venture into cutting back the sugar too and see how the recipe fairs with less sugar. All in all - this may not be the healthiest bread but it came out DELICIOUS! Batter made 24 muffins (paper liners filled to the top) - baked for 25 minutes (be sure to rotate the pans every 10 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Oh this is pumpkin heaven right here! Used 1.5 cups of wheat and 2 cups of white flour and added 1.5 cups of semi-sweet choc chips for the last ingredient. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wonderful! Great for bread or for muffins. ( I made one loaf of bread and 12 muffins.) I made 2 substitutions: 1) 1.5 cups brown sugar, 1.5 cups white 2) 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup + 2T Greek yogurt. Next time I'd use even less oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States