Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe is EXCELLENT!!! I got many compliments on this and many people also asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing it! Follow the recipe exactly and you shouldn't have any problems. The pumpkin pie filling shouldn't just be pure canned pumpkin or you won't have the needed spices. Also, I suggest following the recipe as indicated for butter and NOT trying margerine due to the crust thickening. My daughter loves this and turned this recipe in for her 3rd grade class cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
So easy to prepare and even easier to eat! I did as others suggested and used evaporated milk, other than that I didn't make any changes. Though, I also had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. Not too pumpkiny, which was a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Awful! I made to take to work and they weren't good enough to take.... I followed the recipe exactly and they were awful. I am not sure what went wrong.... Very bland pumpkin mixture and the crust on top was horrible. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe was rich and scrumptious. I used evaporated milk and real pumpkin.I also added 1 cup sugar and 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the middle layer. The mushy consistency of the middle layer was not what I expected, but nonetheless a great dessert for a pumpkin lover like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I am living in South America for a year and really missing home. It's July and winter here, I was particularly missing home a few days ago (it was below freezing). I wanted to make something that reminded me of home, pumpkin pie bars my mom makes. I searched and searched for a recipe I could find all the ingredients for...it took hours. I finally found this recipe with great delight! I went to the store but of course no canned pumpkin. I remembered my mom telling me canned pumpkin isn't nearly as good as cooking your own squash. Seeing how I didn't have any other choice, I bought Kabocha squash (it was either that or butternut). There is a gas shortage right now, so no oven. I cooked the squash in the microwave with a little water and covered. Pureed it in the blender with about 2/3 c of sugar, 1/2 t cloves, 1 t cinnamon and 1/2 t all spice. A medium sized squash made exactly three cups. I followed the rest of the recipe as written (was delighted it called for regular milk, since evaporated is about $4 a can). Baked it at a neighbors house and within hours it was devoured. I am baking another one as I type this. I would agree it's best served cold, but probably won't last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I have been making these bars for over 20 years. They started out as just a Holiday treat but now I make them more often. My children (although they are all grown) still call me for my for the recipe,or to ask me to make them a batch. As a matter of fact,I'm making one right now. I too use carnation evapotated milk instead of regular milk. It makes the dessert taste richer. I also add cinnamon,ginger nutmeg and cloves. I double the amount 0f topping (it's my favorite part.) This is one of the best ways of breaking the same old routine of just plain cake It's one of the family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
thought super! used a spicecake mix patted in to pan, and baked at 350, 10 minutes,perfect for crust. went with 1 can of pumpkin puree, evaporated milk ,1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4tsp salt,1 tsp cinnamon,1/2 tsp ground ginger,1/4 tsp ground cloves in the filling part. done this way is really is a bar dessert not a square pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I used a butter pecan cake mix when I made this and it is awesome!!! The butter pecan really set it off. My Father loves this and so does rest of family. I make this at least one a month. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Really good if you like pumpkin. I used pure pumpkin and added pumpkin pie spice and sugar to taste. I also used lemon cake mix. I will definitely add this to my regulars, even if it is made with cake mix. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bensmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very good recipe! I didn't have a yellow cake mix, so I used a butter pecan cake mix, and added pecans to the crumble topping. I made the mistake of covering it while warm and it made the topping a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States