Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe tastes amazing, but it came out more of a cobbler like consistency than a chewy bar I thought it would be and just fell apart. The cake at the bottom was too soft not a crust-like bottom I had hoped for. It tastes great though. I Let them sit OVERNIGHT in the fridge and they turned out WONDERFULLY!!! They were a HIT at work! Gone in 20mins!!! Make sure you have them sit OVERNIGHT in the fridge to set and they will be bars you can pick up and eat. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this today with a couple alterations. I used french vanilla cake and nutmeg in place of cinnamon, nothing to big but it turned out very good! I tried it when it was warm and thought it was OK but then tried it again when it was completely cool and it was quite delicious! basically pumpkin pie with a twist! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is the exact same recipe that has been used in my family for years! It is perfect for the holidays to make a delicious pumpkin dessert in a snap. I will say that it is also a very, very rich dessert so a little goes a long way. Serve a nice square with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That One Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a really delicious way to use pumpkin. I used a can of plain pumpkin for the middle instead of pumpkin pie filling, and I added 1/2 a cup of splenda, 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, and it turned out great. Was the streusel topping supposed to be mushy? I would have liked more crunch, so would probably add pecans next time. As other reviewers noted, it needs to be baked about 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed other reviewers' advice and used condensed milk in lieu of regular milk, and I included pecans in the topping. However, it took much longer than the suggested 45 - 50 minutes for it to be finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These were absolutely awesome! A huge hit around the house, and I can't wait to make more. I took the recommendations of the reviewers and added sugar to the mixture. About 1/2c. of sugar does the trick, and it's sweet and perfect. I didn't see any need to add pumpkin pie spice as I already had it. To me this is more of a harvest breakfast 'coffee cake' type recipe, so the spice didn't seem to fit in. But I highly recommend this recipe. I'm making some for Thanksgiving breakfast for my relatives. I'll let you know how it comes out. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
So good! Had a can of pumpkin pie filling, and did a recipe search to see how I might use and found this recipe. I like to make desserts from scratch, but this was part of a party menu, so I loved that it used a box cake mix and was simple to make. I added a handful of chopped walnuts to the topping. Lots of guest compliments, and no one woud guess it was so easy to make. I was worried about some of the other reviewers comments about them not setting up. Mine were fine, but I did chill them just in case. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Oh my goodness......very dangerous. Definately a diet buster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These are EXCELLENT! I modified the recipe as suggested (I used a 30 oz can Libby's Pumpkin Pie Mix and no extra sugar or spices, and the evaporated milk.) But the title is misleading.. .they are not really "BARS." They firmed up a little after being in the fridge overnight, but still...you kinda need a fork to eat these (or be willing to lick your fingers!) If you are looking for bars - something you can eat with your hands - this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is just ok, I was looking for a quick and easy version of a recipe I already have. I'll stick with my original recipe. This was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States