Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My husband's favorite dessert. This always gets great compliments from company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this with gluten-free spice cake mix instead of yellow cake. It turned out very well. I would caution other bakers that it calls for 'pumpkin pie FILLING', which is not the same as canned pumpkin. If you get canned pumpkin, you will need to add sugar and milk for it to taste right. Pumpkin pie filling already has the sugar and milk in it. A single can is 3 cups, which is what this recipe calls for. I really loved the flavor but thought there was almost too much pumpkin filling- it made it difficult for them to hold together. I may try 2 cups next time and see how that works. Gluten-free baking tends to be more crumbly in general, so it's possible my bars didn't hold together well for that reason. I would definitely recommend the spice cake mix over the yellow cake mix- gives it a much more 'fall' kind of feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
quick, easy, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yellow cake mix was a littlle strong. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made it twice exactly as written and have loved both times. Both times it has taken a bit longer to cook than stated by about 5 to 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The presentation was good but I thought it tasted bland. I would make again but I would add some ground cloves and pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was fantastic. I omitted the sugar since the cake and pie mix already had plenty. My family loved it. Will make again with a reduced sugar cake and see if anyone notices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe was a bit of a challenge. It was my Plan B because I couldn't find regular canned pumpkin in the store to make my original recipe. I haven't tasted it myself, but my husband said "your pumpkin stuff is awesome". :) I made one significant change on accident. I used sweetened condensed milk instead of regular or evaporated milk. I didn't realize this was wrong until after it was done. At first I thought this would make the dish too overy sweet, but it seems to have turned out ok. The other thing I want to say is that this dish was NOT "easy". I cook a lot and make all types of recipes with varying levels of difficulty. This one might be considered "moderate", but is by no stretch "easy". I allowed this to cool for about 30 minutes, and then left in the fridge overnight. I recommend serving with a spoon (not in bars) and coupling with whip cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A simple recipe when you don't want to do the work of making a pumpkin pie... the struesel crust on top add something to it also... good recipe... but you can't beat a true pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were a big hit at the fall party I made them for. I would have liked the crumble topping to be a bit more crispy, it was pretty soft so I might try adding more sugar to that component next time. Everyone loved them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States