Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday, refrigerated and took to an outdoor work related cookie bake off. I won 2nd place!!! I was so pleased with this, they are delicious. I chose to use a pineapple cake mix to add a little summer flavoring and I also used extra pumpkin pie spices. Agree with adding 10 minutes to cook time. Everyone who ate them liked the flavor and texture. Definitely something different in a sea of gooey chocolate balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this sounds really good and have not tried this yet, but i will be adding ginger, cloves, allspice, nutmeg n cinnamon to filling. thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very good, but could have used more crunch. Next time I might bake the crust a bit first, and/or add toasted pecans to the topping. A good alternative to pumpkin pie for our family Thanksgiving potluck. Got good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
these were good, a synch to prepare, and present well. i used canned pumpkin and prepared according to the libby's recipe on the back of the can, adding 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and more cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg to the filling. I didn't use the extra sugar in the topping, as cake mix is sweet enough; glad I didn't; these were plenty sweet. Did bake them for about 55 minutes and were done. Cut perfectly and didn't have the problem with consistency; they could be eaten by hand and snuck one while still warm. Maybe using the canned pumpkin instead of canned pie filling makes them more firm? nice snack dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Got this recipe while in college back in 1978. Over the years boxed yellow cake mix has been "improved" to be more moist with addition of "pudding in the mix", etc. This has resulted in a much wetter bottom cake layer than the recipe originally created. I am considering making the cake mix from scratch. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My husband's favorite dessert. This always gets great compliments from company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this with gluten-free spice cake mix instead of yellow cake. It turned out very well. I would caution other bakers that it calls for 'pumpkin pie FILLING', which is not the same as canned pumpkin. If you get canned pumpkin, you will need to add sugar and milk for it to taste right. Pumpkin pie filling already has the sugar and milk in it. A single can is 3 cups, which is what this recipe calls for. I really loved the flavor but thought there was almost too much pumpkin filling- it made it difficult for them to hold together. I may try 2 cups next time and see how that works. Gluten-free baking tends to be more crumbly in general, so it's possible my bars didn't hold together well for that reason. I would definitely recommend the spice cake mix over the yellow cake mix- gives it a much more 'fall' kind of feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
quick, easy, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yellow cake mix was a littlle strong. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made it twice exactly as written and have loved both times. Both times it has taken a bit longer to cook than stated by about 5 to 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States