Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe. I made the crust and topping as directed, but made a couple variations to the pumpkin layer. I used a 29 oz. can of canned pumpkin, subsituted one 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk for the milk, and added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. of both ground cloves and nutmeg. It took about an extra 10 to 15 minutes to bake. This tastes the best when completely cooled. While I don't like this as well as actual pumpkin pie, it still tastes pretty good and is convenient to take along to a family or Church gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I used pumpkin pie filling- tasted great. I wish I had used the evaporated milk- the pumpkin filling seems way too soft for a bar. I may try again w/evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Love this recipe! I took the advice of other reviews and used evaporated milk and added sugar and pie spice to the pumpkin mixture. Also, since I add nuts to everything, I put about 1/3 cup of chopped pecans to the topping and because of that used a little more butter as well. Looking forward to making these treats again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I took this to a potluck and received good comments about it. However, I felt it was a little bland. So I made another batch and added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 cup sugar to the pumpkin mixture. This added greatly to the taste. I liked that it was easy to make. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
very good! I also used evaporated milk. I used regular pumpkin and it turned out fine. I did add a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon to the pumpkin. I used an 8 x 8 dish, alittle thick but still good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
In the ingredients, this recipe should read 1 can of pumpkin pie filling. If you use the regular pumpkin, the bars are too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I love this recipe it is so delicious. Always a big hit when I make it. I use I Can't Believe it is not butter in the topping as it seems to taste better, also I use a 16 oz can of pumpkin not the 3 cups per recipe. It does need to bake about 10-15 minutes longer also. MUST use Carnation evaporated milk in the recipe, DO NOT use regular milk. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Great recipe. Had to bake it for 10 more minutes than the recipe called for, to make sure the pumpkin layer is set. Goes wonderfully with some whipped cream on top. Cool and refreshing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Super! Tastes just like a pumpkin pie. I used a jelly roll pan and used them as cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This went over very well. However, I thought the pumpkin mixture needed sugar too. Next time I will add Eagle Brand milk. The streusel topping should be make with real butter and not oleo or margarine. Too watery. My topping clumped together and was hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States