Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
These definitely tasted better after staying in the fridge overnight. don't be disappointed if they don't taste wonderful right away! Let them chill, then try. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Great taste!!! Be careful not to cover the pan or the topping after you make it because it will get too soft and not streuselly. IT was a good dessert!!!!!! Everyone loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
this was an amazing dessert! i'm not a baker at all (i fought with the wedding registry guy at bed bath and beyond for 20 minutes about not wanting to put any baking pans, etc on our wedding registry because i don't bake), and i found this so easy, simple and delicious! i followed bikeeni's suggestions and glad i did. definitely going to make this dessert for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I made this recipe for a potluck and it was gone before I knew it. I liked it because it was very easy. Anything that starts with a cake mix gets bonus points from me! I used canned pumpkin pie filling. I also added nuts and raisins to the top for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This was pretty easy to make. But be sure not to overbake like I did, because it ruins the whole dessert if the bottom is burnt like mine. I also used a whole can of pumpkin pie filling instead of the packed pumpkin. The taste was wonderful (except for the burned bottom). Tasted just like pumpkin pie! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
As written, I would give this recipe 4 stars but due to its potential I bumped it up to 5. I made the following adjustments to the recipe and the result was amazing! I am not sure if I will ever be making a traditional pumpkin pie again! Instead of milk, I used a 12 ounce can of evaporated milk, regular or fat free. For the pumpkin, I used (2) 15 ounce cans of packed pumpkin but added 1/4 cup sugar, about 1.5 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and a few dashes of ground cloves to the mixture. I let it cook for 65-70 minutes at 350 degrees. It smelled so good while it was in the oven that we couldn't wait for it to cool and ended up eating it with a dollop of whipped cream while it was still kind of warm. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe. I made the crust and topping as directed, but made a couple variations to the pumpkin layer. I used a 29 oz. can of canned pumpkin, subsituted one 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk for the milk, and added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. of both ground cloves and nutmeg. It took about an extra 10 to 15 minutes to bake. This tastes the best when completely cooled. While I don't like this as well as actual pumpkin pie, it still tastes pretty good and is convenient to take along to a family or Church gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I used pumpkin pie filling- tasted great. I wish I had used the evaporated milk- the pumpkin filling seems way too soft for a bar. I may try again w/evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Love this recipe! I took the advice of other reviews and used evaporated milk and added sugar and pie spice to the pumpkin mixture. Also, since I add nuts to everything, I put about 1/3 cup of chopped pecans to the topping and because of that used a little more butter as well. Looking forward to making these treats again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I took this to a potluck and received good comments about it. However, I felt it was a little bland. So I made another batch and added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 cup sugar to the pumpkin mixture. This added greatly to the taste. I liked that it was easy to make. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States