Pumpkin Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good. We even used a yellow cake mix that was 50% less sugar and splenda. Add some walnuts to the topping with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
this is the best recipe i have come across and everyone that i have made them for has raved about it. the only thing that i add is candied pecans to the top before i put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These were very good. I substituted spice cake mix for the yellow cake mix, and I used evaporated milk in place of regular milk. I also added chocolate chips to give the bars mroe flavor and texture. I was hoping these wouldn't resemble pumpkin pie because my husband does not like pumpkin pie. So, he tasted one and said, "Hey ... these taste like pumpkin pie!" So, he wasn't a taker, but the rest of my guests devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were pretty good. I don't bake very often and managed not to screw these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe is EXCELLENT!!! I got many compliments on this and many people also asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing it! Follow the recipe exactly and you shouldn't have any problems. The pumpkin pie filling shouldn't just be pure canned pumpkin or you won't have the needed spices. Also, I suggest following the recipe as indicated for butter and NOT trying margerine due to the crust thickening. My daughter loves this and turned this recipe in for her 3rd grade class cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
So easy to prepare and even easier to eat! I did as others suggested and used evaporated milk, other than that I didn't make any changes. Though, I also had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. Not too pumpkiny, which was a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Awful! I made to take to work and they weren't good enough to take.... I followed the recipe exactly and they were awful. I am not sure what went wrong.... Very bland pumpkin mixture and the crust on top was horrible. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe was rich and scrumptious. I used evaporated milk and real pumpkin.I also added 1 cup sugar and 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the middle layer. The mushy consistency of the middle layer was not what I expected, but nonetheless a great dessert for a pumpkin lover like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I am living in South America for a year and really missing home. It's July and winter here, I was particularly missing home a few days ago (it was below freezing). I wanted to make something that reminded me of home, pumpkin pie bars my mom makes. I searched and searched for a recipe I could find all the ingredients for...it took hours. I finally found this recipe with great delight! I went to the store but of course no canned pumpkin. I remembered my mom telling me canned pumpkin isn't nearly as good as cooking your own squash. Seeing how I didn't have any other choice, I bought Kabocha squash (it was either that or butternut). There is a gas shortage right now, so no oven. I cooked the squash in the microwave with a little water and covered. Pureed it in the blender with about 2/3 c of sugar, 1/2 t cloves, 1 t cinnamon and 1/2 t all spice. A medium sized squash made exactly three cups. I followed the rest of the recipe as written (was delighted it called for regular milk, since evaporated is about $4 a can). Baked it at a neighbors house and within hours it was devoured. I am baking another one as I type this. I would agree it's best served cold, but probably won't last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I have been making these bars for over 20 years. They started out as just a Holiday treat but now I make them more often. My children (although they are all grown) still call me for my for the recipe,or to ask me to make them a batch. As a matter of fact,I'm making one right now. I too use carnation evapotated milk instead of regular milk. It makes the dessert taste richer. I also add cinnamon,ginger nutmeg and cloves. I double the amount 0f topping (it's my favorite part.) This is one of the best ways of breaking the same old routine of just plain cake It's one of the family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States