Pumpkin Pie Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Tried this recipe exactly "as is." Not great, but not bad! Needed some ZING. I have made a similar pumpkin bar w/cream cheese,so I may have expected these to have THAT richness...but to me, this recipe is just good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted almost better than pumpkin pie (and I made lot's of pumpkin pies this last fall for our village fall fair contest!) I increased the pumpkin pie spice flavoring by adding 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves and this worked really well. I also greased the bottom of the pan and used a glass bakeware dish as suggested by other members and this worked great. Note of caution: It will appear that the batter isn't really firming up but the bottom cruse is getting nice and golden. This is similar to when cooking a pumpkin pie. If you think the crust is done then take it out. The batter will continue to cook and will in fact firm up and turn out perfectly and not over done. Also, the recipe suggests to serve warm but I actually found them to be much better once they had a chance to cool completely and the flavors had a chance to settle. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. My sister and I have managed to consume the entire batch in a couple of days. I added more spices than the recipe called for. I didn't have allspice so I added extra cinnamon, cloves and ginger. I will also add nutmeg when I make it again. It smells so good while it's baking. So much better than pumpkin pie. I used pecans for the nut addition-2 thumbs up on that. This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The only thing I did differently than instructed by the recipe was to grease my baking pan. These turned out so good! A very nice alternative to basic pumpkin pie. I found the taste to be just the right amount of sweetness and the allspice was enough flavor for me. I loved the texture that the crumb top and crust gave to this. Really a perfect little dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Wonderful!! I did cut back on the sugars in the crust to 1/3 cup of each brown & white sugar. Trust me, you'll never miss it.Also, I didn't have any allspice, so I substituted 1/2 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp cloves in the pumpkin filling. Perfect! Lastly, I was a little nervous that the recipe advised NOT greasing the pan, so I sprayed just a tiny amount of Pam, with a little extras in the corners (where stuff usually likes to burn, if it's gonna burn!). It probably wasn't necessary, and next time I will use an ungreased pan. And there WILL be a next time!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These are great! For those out there with nut allergies, I didnt have any nuts so I subbed oatmeal. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These bars were great! Even my husband liked them and he usually avoids pumpkin treats! I substituted apple sauce for the eggs because of an egg allergy and made my own pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenberg.de

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Tastes wonderfully of autumn. Prefer it cold like my pumpkin pie. Warm would be good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made as written except cut sugar back by half- it was still very sweet. The flavor was good and the idea of pumpkin bars was cute but these just sat around. No one was wow-ed; if it where a pie it would have been gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were fantastic! Since they were pumpkin pie bars though, I used the same spices called for on the can of Libby's for pumpkin pie. Every time I make them, no one can eat just one. Make sure you bake it long enough that the bottom crust comes out crunchy. I made it once where the bottom crust was soggy and it was still good, but no where near as good as the crunchy bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States