Pumpkin Pecan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yuk. Followed exactly, and love pumkin and/or pecan anything, but these were not enjoyable in the least. Needs spices, takes too long to cook for a pancake, not a good texture for a pancake, flat and limp. Deleting this recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The taste was great. They were a bit flat for me since I really like fluffy pancakes. Once I get this fixed it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
For those who substitute things, please note that acidity level in pancakes affects the rise of the soda. So buttermilk will give more lift than yogurt, and milk none at all. Also if you sub oatmeal you should grind it a bit in a blender or food processor. Letting the batter rest is wise. And I agree, this needs a bit of oil or butter in the batter, some spice and half the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
THey were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
These pancakes were really good. I added a bit more almond milk. Instead of the ww pastry flour I used half freshly ground white wheat flour and half kamut flour. I also used fresh pureed pumpkin and less vanilla. I used half the recommended sugar and used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar added a bit of stevia. I chopped the pecan in a small food processor. They tasted really good and were filling. My husband and toddler liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These pancackes have a lot of texture thanks to pecans and hot cereal. I used non-fat greek yogurt, unsweetened almond milk and 1/4c agave syrup. The dough is thick. I'd add some pumpkin pie spice or cnnamon to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Sorry, I didn't care for these. I followed the directions without modification and they came out much too thick and bland. I ended up adding about 3/4 cup more milk and 1/4 tsp cinnamon in an attempt to salvage breakfast but neither of us cared for them . Too much vanilla for my tastes. I much prefer "Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Served these with the Apple Cider Syrup from "Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup By: JEANETTE B" on this site. Excellent choice for a chilly fall morning. I used walnuts instead of pecans, brown sugar instead of white, cutting back to a quarter cup. I used fresh baked pureed pumpkin, not canned. Next time I will add a teaspoon or 2 of pumpkin pie spices. These are heavy and solid, maybe a Tbsp or two of oil or melted butter might help to make these a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are great, and I love how healthy they are! I've made them a few times now, using plain Greek yogurt, which bumps up the protein/calcium content. Also add a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to accentuate the pumpkin/fall flavors. I also go with chopped walnuts, since they've got more protein and Omega-3s than pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Good taste and texture and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States