Pumpkin Pecan Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
used almonds instead.very good. try honey instead of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I admittedly realized at the last minute that I had no pecans, and so substituted almonds instead. But my problem with this recipe has little to do with the flavour (which, with the almonds, anyway, was quite delicious), but more to do with the fact that the baked "logs" don't spread a lot. I like a long biscotti for dipping...the logs don't spread enough to allow for long biscottis even being cut on an extreme diagonal. Also - if you're looking for a strong pumpkin flavour, this isn't the recipe for you..I'm tasting cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger, but very little pumpkin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Not as good as the other Biscotti I've made. It was a little too moist for a biscotti. Did have a nice flavor. But I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I am a sourdough pancake snob but I have to admit this is a great tasking pancake. Whenever I have extra buttermilk I make this quick and easy pancake for breakfast and always rave reviews. The recipe is easily cut into thirds which is perfect for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I thought these were very good. Nice flavor. I might have added a little more spices than the recipe called for since I wanted to use up the last of a container of cinnamon, but the spices were good in my opinion! The texture was sticky and I wet my hands to shape the logs, but that is typical of biscotti dough. I like mine extra crunchy so I left mine in the oven after I turned it off to make them harden up. The logs were wider than 2 inches, probably 10 by 4-5 inches. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I like the concept, but as is, they really didn't turn out as I would have preferred. First, to those who complained of blandness, that's because there is a lot of flour in this recipe. On my second go-round, I used just 2 c. flour (I altered a bunch of other stuff the second time, too, but I'll just write my own version of this another time; I also believe there to be too much sugar in this recipe, too). Mind you, BISCOTTI IS SUPPOSED TO BE A MILD FLAVORED COOKIE!!! Second, I am always befuddled at how people get acceptable results with such high oven temps. My oven does NOT run hot (I never have problems with other recipes), and just about every biscotti recipe I try baked at this temp turns out with a mild burnt taste on the outside and is soft in the middle. I honestly bake mine at only 300-degrees and I just bake them slightly longer so they dry thoroughly. Anyway, not terrible, though not spectacular. Sorry! I like the pumpkin-y taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very tasty. Mine didn't turn out dry enough to be a biscotti, so it was more like a cookie. Still delicious. Next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I wound up having to add a little more pumpkin than the recipe called for, since my "dough" was initially so dry that I couldn't get it to stick together, but other than that, a great recipe. Can't wait to dunk these in my coffee tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauLau
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a good biscotti recipe, although it needed a few adjustments. I halved the ingredients as I didn't want or need 3 dozen biscotti! The dough was extremely dry and very hard to work with, so I had to add a bit of vegetable oil, additional vanilla extract and even a small amount of water to make it workable. I also added pumpkin pie spice to give it more pumpkin flavour. I'd recommend adding more than the recommended serving of pumpkin puree (try 1 cup); I think this would help with the blend-ability of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great! I doubled all the spices except cinnamon, which I tripled. Used about 2/3 cup pumpkin and had to add a little extra flour to make up for the extra moisture. Also used chopped toasted pecans instead of walnuts. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States