Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I was scared reading the recipe, as it calls for vinegar. I decided to make it as directed due to the high rating it received. I liked them! I couldn't taste the vinegar at all! I used spelt flour in place of all purpose flour. That is the only substitution I made. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
DELICIOUS! They don't come any better than this. Fluffy and almost cake like. Great pumpkin flavor blended with subtle spices. I did not have any allspice so instead of 1/2tsp allspice I used 1/4tsp nutmeg & 1/4tsp ground cloves. YUM! Why on earth would anyone want to tweek this recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These were the best. The pancakes were a little thick so they were still gooey inside when I made them, but that is how I like them so I'm very pleased! Lovely pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I guess I was the minority here. I LOVE pumpkin pancakes but I did not love these. Followed the directions and made them in my electric skillet. The flavor was very bland. Dry outer edges and gooey middles. These took forever to get done and my skillet works great so I know that wasn't the problem. I've had much better pumpkin pacakes even after dressing these up with butter, cinnamon/sugar, and real maple syrup they weren't anything to get excited over. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Yummy! Accidentally used pumpkin pie filling instead of purée, the texture was muffin like. They were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I can't believe how many of these my daughters ate! So good and good for you! I changed the serving size to 10 to use a whole can of pumpkin. Despite what the numbers on the recipe were after doing that, I used a whole can of puree and two eggs. Turned out great. I used one can of evaporated milk and a cup of 2% milk. Also, using the adjusted measurements for 10 servings, I used 2/3 cup whole wheat flour and the rest regular flour with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made these this morning!!!!! Kids loved them! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIMCLAREN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Super moist (not gooey) and delicious! Also filling--I only needed one. You can definitely taste the pumpkin, and it was perfect on a Saturday morning with hot coffee. I am a vegan so used my usual substitutes-- 2 TB flax meal instead of one egg, and organic soy milk instead of cow's milk. Also didn't have all purpose flour so used whole wheat. Word of advice: the batter is super thick (may want to add milk as needed) and when on the pan it's thick enough that it may not bubble through, so routinely check on the underside so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
These are fantastic! The changes I made were 1 1/2c. of pumpkin, didn't use allspice, added heaping tsp. cinnamon, 1/2tsp. ginger, 1/2tsp. nutmeg, 1/4tsp. cloves. I combined the milk and vinegar and let sit while I whisked the egg, pumpkin, and oil (coconut) together, then slowly added the milk. Then I combined all the dry ingredients, in a separate bowl, by whisking also. Then carefully mix wet and dry using a folding method, ONLY till mixed. Do not add extra milk! The batter is thick, but scoops and pours just fine, and cooks up very light and fluffy. We all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States