Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made some healthy substitutions and it was still really good! Instead of butter I used 1 cup coconut oil and 1/2 cup earth balance buttery spread. I removed 1 cup of brown sugar all together. I replaced 2 of the cups of flour with 1 cup golden flax meal and one cup almond flour. They are delcious and still plenty sweet with all those chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The pumpkin is a great way to add a tasty twist to a classic. They were easy to make and so yummy! I added crushed walnuts to give it a little crunch. The original recipe made amazingly soft, sweet cookies! i would recommend this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyBelladonna
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I was looking for a pumpkin pie cookie that wasn't so cakey - this is it!! Everyone (including my pumpkin hating boyfriend) loved them! I followed the recipe almost exactly... I did use pumpkin pie filling instead of pumpkin puree, and added a few TSPs of pumpkin pie spice and an extra dash of cinnamon for more flavor. Also, I used regular sized milk chocolate chips instead of mini semi sweets. I'd say they are perfect this way! They taste even better the next day, and are still super soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyBelladonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The original recipe deserves 5 stars. However, my changes could make them a heart-healthier 6 ;) I used half whole wheat flour (2 cups of wheat, two of white), increased the oats to 3 cups and eliminated the white sugar (just used 2 cups brown). I also substituted some of the butter for unsweetened applesauce. The entire family likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I altered the recipe a bit to make it a bit more healthy and so I could share it with a friend allergic to eggs: I use coconut oil instead of butter, only 1 cup brown sugar and no white sugar. No egg, 1/4 cup coconut milk, and more spices: a tablespoon cinnamon, a tablespoon nutmeg and two teaspoons ground cloves. I also added raisins instead of chocolate chips. They were still moist and yummy (we are used to low sugar, so that might not be the case for everyone) The spices add that zing that makes not so sweet just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delphina5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pharmacy Chick
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for my co-workers and they loved them! I only made a 1/2 batch because I didn't need 6 dozen cookies. Because there is only 1 egg in the full recipe, I still used a single egg for the half batch without any other changes to the ratios. Make sure to remove from the oven when they just start to brown so they do not dry out. I added a pinch of nutmeg, ginger and cloves to make them a little more pumpkin-pie flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pharmacy Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VanessaM
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was so tasty! I halved the recipe so here are some tips if you also don't want to make 6 dozen cookies. When you half the recipe, still use a whole egg and use a little less than a half a teaspoon of salt. So delicious. I also added more chocolate chips and I didn't use the mini kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Soo good!!! They turned out super moist!! In addition to the cinnamon I added a pinch of nutmeg, allspice, ginger and cloves, around a 1/4 tsp of each!!! A nice change of pace from traditional chocolate chip cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These are pretty good. My 18yr. old son absolutely LOVED them. I halved the recipe but put in a whole (small) egg, a little over 1/2 the can of pumpkin, and 1 1/2c. of regular rolled oats instead of just 1c. I was glad I increased the oats. I also reduced the brown sugar by 1/4 and the white by about 1/2. Used regular chocolate chips too. Half the recipe made 3 1/2 dozen cookies using a TBS cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALI88BABA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
These are so delicious! Very easy and yields more than the recipe states. I got about 84 cookies from one batch. The only changes I made were that I used white chocolate chips and added 1 1/2 cups of walnuts. My family raved about them and couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States