Pumpkin-Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used quick oats and they turned out fine. I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar and they were still not sweet enough, even with icing. I tend to like healthy/non-sweet things, but they need a bit more sugar. The texture was dry which is how I like my scones. They could used more of the spices as well. The poster who suggested cutting in the butter with a cheese grater is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I made the scones but used pumpkin pie spice. These scones are pretty darn good. They will be delicious with a cup of coffee in the morning. They are not sweet but I really liked them. I noticed people added sugar or swapped out wheat flour for part of the white flour. I'm sure those variations are yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Made half the recipe this morning for breakfast for my teen son and I. Easy, quick, healthy. I will certainly make these again. We live at high altitude so I use double acting baking powder. Thank you MattsWife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made these twice and they are delicious. I did add 1/3 c of brown sugar for some sweetness and used 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of all the others. I also added a small amount of pumpkin pie spice to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wow, it didn't even dawn on me that this recipe had no sugar! It DEFINITELY needs sugar. Throw a quarter cup of brown sugar in there or something. They're good but just... not right without a touch of sweetness. I hate that drizzle powdered sugar icing so I left that off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I make this recipe as written except I use white whole wheat flour. I make them to take to work and everyone loves them. Great fall treat! I have substituted apple for the pumpkin and that is good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn
Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
had a craving for pumpkin scones... I used half whole wheat flour, tossed in some walnuts, raisins and almost 1/4 c. honey. Tastes great, lightly sweet and yummy fresh out of the oven! Don't even need the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I was so disappointed that when mine came out of the oven after baking as recommended, they were chewy and too moist. The glaze wasn't that good, but I added 2 TBS of pumpkin puree and it tasted much better. The scones taste like pumpkin flavored oatmeal cookies without the raisins. I am still on the quest to find a recipe more similar to Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These were perhaps more cake-y than what is technically considered a scone, but I prefer it that way :) These were great. I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to the recipe. After the frosting, these were just the perfect amount of sweetness. My 9 year old son says they taste just like the ones at The Coffee Shop That Shall Not Be Named. I loved the texture the oats gave them. We will be making these again. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I'd never made scones before until I tried these, and I was very pleased with the result! I liked that they weren't very sweet; the glaze added just the right touch! I brought them to a breakfast party, and they were a hit with my colleagues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States