Pumpkin Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe was good. It was enough of a sweet treat to keep me away from really really bad treats. However I found the bars a little too spicy all I could taste was nutmeg. If I try it again I might reduce the amount of spice added and add some walnuts to balance the mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Good but not great-- added chia and protein powder so I could turn these into a serious grab-and-go breakfast, and they're definitely good for that. Surprisingly moist, so even though they're not an explosion of flavour it feels more like a decadent baked good than a usual dense (and disappointing) breakfast bar. Next time I'll probably add nuts, dried fruit... and probably chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Bright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Chestnut-Thue
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Soft and tasty. Not too unhealthy either. I used regular milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made a few changes, but liked basic recipe. I added 2 large scoops of vanilla protein powder. I also omitted the brown sugar and replaced it with 1/8 cup of honey. I replaced the half & half with 2% milk. Very good protein bar for breakfast or a snack! I cut them into 16 bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Ok as a healthy snack, but didn't love the consistency or flavour of these. Had to re-read the recipe several times to ensure I didn't miss anything as mine didn't turn out like others said. were flat and not 'chewy'. I switched half and half to soy milk and added a little oil to compensate. The grated orange zest I added boosted the flavour, otherwise I think they would have been quite bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made these pumpkin bars today. They are a very good snack and much healthier than other recipes. I substituted milk for half and half and added 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These had good flavor but they are much more of a baked oatmeal than a pumpkin bar. The texture is chewy and not cakey at all because there is no flour. Don't expect a nice light cakey bar from this recipe. For what it is...a baked oatmeal type bar, it is quite good and a nice healthy option for a snack or quick on the go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made these today because I wanted a healthier version that I could make with the ingredients I had on hand. I followed the recipe, except sub'd almond milk for half & half. I frosted them with a neufchatel cheese frosting (like cream cheese) and sprinkled some chopped ginger on top. They turned out sooo good. Very moist, and not too sweet, just how I like my desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States