Pumpkin Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe was good. It was enough of a sweet treat to keep me away from really really bad treats. However I found the bars a little too spicy all I could taste was nutmeg. If I try it again I might reduce the amount of spice added and add some walnuts to balance the mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Good but not great-- added chia and protein powder so I could turn these into a serious grab-and-go breakfast, and they're definitely good for that. Surprisingly moist, so even though they're not an explosion of flavour it feels more like a decadent baked good than a usual dense (and disappointing) breakfast bar. Next time I'll probably add nuts, dried fruit... and probably chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Bright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Chestnut-Thue
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Soft and tasty. Not too unhealthy either. I used regular milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made a few changes, but liked basic recipe. I added 2 large scoops of vanilla protein powder. I also omitted the brown sugar and replaced it with 1/8 cup of honey. I replaced the half & half with 2% milk. Very good protein bar for breakfast or a snack! I cut them into 16 bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Ok as a healthy snack, but didn't love the consistency or flavour of these. Had to re-read the recipe several times to ensure I didn't miss anything as mine didn't turn out like others said. were flat and not 'chewy'. I switched half and half to soy milk and added a little oil to compensate. The grated orange zest I added boosted the flavour, otherwise I think they would have been quite bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made these pumpkin bars today. They are a very good snack and much healthier than other recipes. I substituted milk for half and half and added 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These had good flavor but they are much more of a baked oatmeal than a pumpkin bar. The texture is chewy and not cakey at all because there is no flour. Don't expect a nice light cakey bar from this recipe. For what it is...a baked oatmeal type bar, it is quite good and a nice healthy option for a snack or quick on the go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made these today because I wanted a healthier version that I could make with the ingredients I had on hand. I followed the recipe, except sub'd almond milk for half & half. I frosted them with a neufchatel cheese frosting (like cream cheese) and sprinkled some chopped ginger on top. They turned out sooo good. Very moist, and not too sweet, just how I like my desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States