Pumpkin Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vikto
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I altered slightly by adding 1/2 t. salt, and using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar -- 14 muffins and you can see from the picture, they are large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
These were easy and delicious. Used toasted pecans and added a half a pecan to the top of each muffin which was cute and tasty. Added raisins to mine and decided I wish I had left as the recipe stated. They definitely contributed their own flavor. My husband ate two the next day and said they were still moist and good. Did add the 1/2 tsp. of salt that others recommended and used heaping measurings of the spices as I like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I've made these twice now, and they have come out perfectly moist, and wonderfully delicious both times. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
They turned out moist, delicious and beautiful! This recipe is definitely a keeper. After reading reviews, I added a half teaspoon of salt to the recipe. Other than that, would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The only reason I'm not giving this a five is because I altered it a little. It's really, really great. All I did was I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for the butter. That really added a great apple flavor and added to the moistness of the muffin. Also, this filled 12 muffin cups (not 12) and they were pretty large. It took 30 minutes for me (some others said it only took 20). I checked at 25 minutes and the toothpick did not come out clean. At 30 min, it did. Again, I'd say this is a great recipe, provided you make sure you have enough moisture (the 1/2 cup applesauce was more liquid than 1/3 cup butter and I think it made a difference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have tried so many recipes that use leftover pumpkin after making pie for Thanksgiving. I always find the pumpkin cookies, breads, or muffins taste bland and are missing something. I LOVED these muffins! Fantastic. I added 1/8 tsp salt and used chopped walnuts in lieu of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made these for breakfast for a crowd and they went over very well. I "made" buttermilk from milk and some lemon juice (1 tsp lemon juice, then fill measuring cup with milk to 1/3 cup). I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of salt as another reviewer suggested and I think that helped a lot. Only ended up with ~20 muffins but I may have overfilled them a little bit. I loved the addition of molasses - gave them a bit more depth of flavor. These are much better than the last pumpkin muffins I tried, and I'm definitely keeping this recipe around for the next time I have pumpkin in the house. Thank you! EDIT 8/28/12: Put the batter in a bundt pan, swirled in some apricot jam, and baked until tester came clean (this took ~40 minutes in my oven). Worked great. I plan on making a cream cheese icing for the top and sprinkling on some chopped dried apricots and toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I had some leftover buttermilk from another recipe and decided to try these. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden and added the 1/2 teaspoon of salt as suggested by other reviewers. I also left out the nuts because of personal preference and sprinkled some course sugar on each muffin instead before baking. Following the directions to fill the muffin cups to almost full, I only got 14 muffins but I wouldn't suggest stretching the batter out to 24 muffins or they will be too flat. They are light and fluffy and delicious straight out of the oven. I will definitely be making this recipe again since even my picky daughter loves them. I might try adding 1/2 cup raisins next time to replace the missing nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I reduced the amount of white sugar to 3/4 c. and could not tell any difference. These are great muffins, very moist. They freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were good, but I should have read the reviews before I made these, because they were definitely in need of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States