Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I’m always pleased when I’m the first reviewer of a recipe and can write an enthusiastic and positive review. I do have my criticisms of this recipe, but they’re no biggies and don’t detract from the resulting muffin at all. First, don’t bother measuring out 1-1/2 c. of the pumpkin. After doing so there was so little left in the 15 oz. can that I just used all of it. Second, I found that just 1/4 c. of raisins was skimpy – so I added another 1/4 cup. My remaining criticisms are slightly more important. As I looked over the ingredients and then the batter itself, I could see this was going to make way more than 18 muffins; and so it did. I got 24 perfectly sized and rounded muffins. The instructions to make the streusel are unconventional, so I chose to prepare it in the standard manner of mixing the flour and sugar, adding the butter until crumbly (I use a fork) and finally the oats. Because there were 24 muffins, not 18, I was short of topping and had no motivation to drag things out again to make another batch. I had enough to top 12 muffins very nicely and chose to leave the other 12 without. With or without topping, they’re lovely. They’re light and fluffy, not heavy and dense. Without streusel they’d be great with cream cheese frosting, but they’re just perfect as is. They’re gorgeous too, and just as delicious as they are pretty, not overly sweet and lightly spiced, so the pumpkin unmistakably takes center stage. Bonus: the topping actually stays put!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Not one complaint with this recipe. Was excellent. This does not produce a crumbly topping rather it melts in and is almost carmelized tasting in places. I didn't have oil so substituted butter for the batter but no other changes. I tripled the topping and that perfectly covered 12 regular sized and 36 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Wonderful muffin! Opted to leave out raisins, but wow are these good! I baked for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Doubled the topping amount so I had enough. Made a batch of the mini muffins too, they cooked about 13 minutes. Will be making often! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
The muffins are fluffy, moist and amazing! I followed the direction, excluding the raisins. I used a large muffin pan, filled the cups 3/4, and got 12 muffins. Doubled the topping and cooked for 35min. The house smelt amazing and my husband ate 2 straight out of the oven! These muffins are a slice of fall heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Oh my! Just a few things, as noted in the other reviews and I feel the same way...double the raisins, use the whole 15oz can of pumpkin, and you MUST double the streusel topping! I ended up with 24 muffins, but I suppose it depends on the size of your muffin cups. I filled my cups almost to the top, leaving only enough room for the topping and they came out looking great. These really are fabulous muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made these tonight so there would be a yummy breakfast waiting for the family first thing in the morning. They did not disappoint! I didn't see the need for applesauce too, so I just subbed 1/2 addtl pumpkin puree, used 2/3 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil instead of the veggie oil, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1/2 c. regular flour. I also used 2 extra large goose eggs instead (goose and duck eggs are amazingly superior in baked goods!). Finally, I added 1/4 c. shopped pecans and 1/4 c. pumpkin seeds (I just happened to have on hand) to the streusel. The recipe made 22 very full muffin cups and one batch of topping covered all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Truly wonderful! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Was craving something with pumpkin and this did the trick! So moist and great flavor, the only thing I would do differently is add some chopped pecans to the streusel...other than that perfect! Update: I added a cream cheese filling to these muffins and it worked out perfectly! I made the filling out of: 8 ounces cream cheese, softened, 1 cup powdered sugar & 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I then placed the mixture on plastic wrap and made a log out of it, wrapped it up and put in the freezer for a few hours and then just sliced it when I needed it to put in the center of the muffin batter. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
If I were to rate this as a regular size muffin I'd give it 4 stars, but as a mini muffin this gets 5! I was able to make 12 regular muffins and 40 mini muffins. Make sure to double the streusel mixture. Also, I added about 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans to the streusel; so glad I did! I found that the minis had the perfect balance of streusel-to muffin for optimal flavor; de-friggin'-liscious! I've Pinned the recipe and will be making these numerous times this fall. Great to make, store half to eat within a few days and freeze the rest. Then, as you want a muffin or two, remove from freezer and heat in microwave. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So yummy! I woke up to a perfect fall-like New England morning,just the right occasion to make delicious pumpkin muffins.The only changes I made were: I used 1/2 cup of sour cream in place of applesauce.I love they flavor & texture sour cream gives to baked goods-they turn out perfectly moist.I also decided not to add any raisins.The batter & topping amount were perfect to make 12 large & 12 mini muffins.My 2 year old daughter could not get enough! Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren's mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States