Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written...I did not change a thing. I didn't have pumpkin pie seasoning but did make my own from a recipe on this site as well. I filled the muffin cups almost to the top and I got exactly 18 muffins. I had enough streusel topping for all of the muffins. They are delicious. A nice light & fluffy muffin. I will make these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Not one complaint with this recipe. Was excellent. This does not produce a crumbly topping rather it melts in and is almost carmelized tasting in places. I didn't have oil so substituted butter for the batter but no other changes. I tripled the topping and that perfectly covered 12 regular sized and 36 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I lightened this up by using egg beaters, 1 cup of whole wheat flour (instead of all white) and half oil and half applesauce (in addition to the required applesauce). Like everyone else, I used the whole 15 oz can of pumpkin puree. I doubled the topping based on reviews and I had more than enough to top the 22 muffins I got. I was lazy and used the food processor to prepare the streusel topping instead of the method in the recipe. They are definitely a breakfast muffin - not very sweet which might be my fault as I used unsweetened applesauce. Perhaps my pumpkin pie spice was old but it seemed to need more flavor. Great base recipe and I'll try again with fresh pumpkin pie spice as well as saving some for cream cheese frosting. Went great warm with my morning coffee as is, though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
What a wonderful treat to enjoy on this beautiful fall day, especially served along side a cup of “Baked Apple Dumpling” coffee. Simple pleasures are the best. I substituted butternut squash I had grown in the garden and baked the previous night instead of the canned pumpkin. This recipe made 24 muffins instead of the 18 mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I read all the reviews and really couldnt wait to try these muffins I'm not sure how they taste yet as they are in the oven now. I made double of the topping, didnt use the applesauce, did use a 15 oz can of pumpkin puree. The recipe made 6 Texas size muffins and 6 regular size one. The 6 big ones are going to the office tomorrow and the small ones are for home. They smell great cant wait to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
The muffins are fluffy, moist and amazing! I followed the direction, excluding the raisins. I used a large muffin pan, filled the cups 3/4, and got 12 muffins. Doubled the topping and cooked for 35min. The house smelt amazing and my husband ate 2 straight out of the oven! These muffins are a slice of fall heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made these tonight so there would be a yummy breakfast waiting for the family first thing in the morning. They did not disappoint! I didn't see the need for applesauce too, so I just subbed 1/2 addtl pumpkin puree, used 2/3 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil instead of the veggie oil, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1/2 c. regular flour. I also used 2 extra large goose eggs instead (goose and duck eggs are amazingly superior in baked goods!). Finally, I added 1/4 c. shopped pecans and 1/4 c. pumpkin seeds (I just happened to have on hand) to the streusel. The recipe made 22 very full muffin cups and one batch of topping covered all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So yummy! I woke up to a perfect fall-like New England morning,just the right occasion to make delicious pumpkin muffins.The only changes I made were: I used 1/2 cup of sour cream in place of applesauce.I love they flavor & texture sour cream gives to baked goods-they turn out perfectly moist.I also decided not to add any raisins.The batter & topping amount were perfect to make 12 large & 12 mini muffins.My 2 year old daughter could not get enough! Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren's mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Wonderful muffin! Opted to leave out raisins, but wow are these good! I baked for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Doubled the topping amount so I had enough. Made a batch of the mini muffins too, they cooked about 13 minutes. Will be making often! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Oh my! Just a few things, as noted in the other reviews and I feel the same way...double the raisins, use the whole 15oz can of pumpkin, and you MUST double the streusel topping! I ended up with 24 muffins, but I suppose it depends on the size of your muffin cups. I filled my cups almost to the top, leaving only enough room for the topping and they came out looking great. These really are fabulous muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States