Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great breakfast and easy! I made one dozen and thinned the rest of the batter for pancakes! The best pancakes I've ever had! My family agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJKADABA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
We really loved these muffins but I wish Allreicpes.com had not taken away the Nutritional data at the bottom of all the recipes. As a Weight Watcher I need to have this information and it is a great loss to the site. In fact, it was one of the features I originally liked most about the site and has now made this recipes site less useful and less appealing to me. In this day and age where most people are watching fat, fibre, carbs and protein content (and calories)more closely, why would you discontinue this service? Please, please reinstate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
These are very yummy. I made a batch with the topping and another without. I found that it tastes delicious either way but if I want a sugar fix I grabbed one with the topping. This was very easy to make and didn't take as long as the recipe said. I baked them at 375 degrees because then they have the domed top compared to getting the flat tops. 25 degrees makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great flavor. My pumpkin seasoning was made from one of the Allrecipe recipes. I used home-frozen squash puree and home-canned apple sauce, unsweetened. Made 20 big muffins. Probably a bit too moist because they didn't want to come out of the muffin tins and most of the tops came off. Next time I'll use paper liners. And there definitely will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Cont...Ok, have just done some fact finding as I was curious and unhappy about the bitter after taste, which I and a few others mentioned with this recipe. Hope this helps make this a true, 5 star repipe! taken from www.thekitchn.com "When heated, sodium bicarbonate also produces sodium carbonate, which doesn't taste so great. It leaves an unpleasant, alkaline flavor behind. But if you mix baking soda with an acid (like lemon juice or another citric acid carrier) then the sodium carbonate is partially neutralized and leaves behind less aftertaste. This acid also helps the carbon dioxide gas release more quickly. Baking powder is basically just baking soda with acid added in. It has just enough acid to use up the sodium carbonate. Shirley Corriher in her great book Cookwise says that 1 teaspoon baking powder contains 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. The other 3/4 teaspoon contains the acid and cornstarch." So, in future by eliminating the bicarbonate of soda completly and using only baking powder and self rising flour, the problem is eliminated. Most of the other muffin recipes I looked at called for just these two. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
D'lish! I followed other comments and used the whole can of pumpkin and just omitted the applesauce. I forgot to put in the raisins, so I put them on top and then omitted the streusel top. They are absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Recipe perfect exactly the way it is! Added cinnamon applesauce because it is what we had on hand - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Just make these, you won't regret it! Wow....I ate two right out of the oven. My boys loved them too. Definitely a keeper. I subbed half of the flour for white whole wheat, used 2 cups of pumpkin and skipped the applesauce (had 2 cups of pumpkin to use up)...used probably 5.5 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of 4 tsp, tripled the streusel and added chopped almonds. Mine made 22 good sized muffins, baked @ 31 min. Really, so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious muffins -- I made them for a work breakfast and people were asking for the recipe. I used sultanas for the raisins since I had them, and they were a great fit for the color and texture of the muffins. The recipe does make 18 very large muffins -- spreading them out should make 24 reasonably-sized ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe is magical! I had to make a few adjustments because of health reasons. Anyone who practices alternative baking knows what a pain it is to make adjustments and, often times, the recipe doesn't turn out or it is just so-so. But this recipe? Magical! I used a gluten free flour blend in place of the all-purpose flour. I substituted one for one. I then reduced sugars to 1/2 cup total, using coconut palm sugar in place of the refined sugars. I then substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil--one for one. Even with my adjustments these muffins came out incredibly moist and delicious. I struggle with muffin recipes as most GF muffins are dry, sometimes crumbly and simply not good. I was so very pleased with how these turned out. Very moist, full of pumpkin flavor (I find that pumpkin flavor often gets lost in the baking process) and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!! Great way to start Halloween morning. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States