Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Yummy! Lovely & moist. I didn't have the cloves or the nutmeg so I upped the cinnamon & allspice. I also topped with Quaker Harvest Crunch granola. I think next time I might add cranberries and either walnuts or sunflower seeds. I will be adding these to my regular muffin roster. Note: These made 18 medium sized muffins for me. And I cooked for 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I loved these finely textured muffins. I divided the recipe in half (still used 2 eggs) and got 9 nice "tea size" muffins. I used canned pumpkin (1 cup) as I am always in a hurry - and they were delish. Put a dab of cream cheese icing on the few remaining muffins the next day and that was a nice addition. Almost like a light pumpkin loaf. I went a little light on the cloves for fear of overpowering the pumpkin flavour. Will make these again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love these! They are perfectly spiced. As per another suggestion I used 2 cups W/w flour, 1 cup oatmeal, omitted the oil and used 1 cup homemade applesauce, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 2 eggs and 1 tsp BP. Will make these again and again! Tip: Roast your pumpkin whole and then cut in half and scoop out seeds and strings. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made the recipe as written except for using canned pumpkin. I used 2 1/2 cups of the canned pumpkin puree. The spices are good, but I think next time I will cut the cloves and allspice by 1/2. It made exactly 24 regular muffins. They are delicious and so moist!!! The second batch I made I added raisins to it. I did make a topping for the muffins and put it on them right before I put them into the oven. (1C flour, 1C instant oats, 1C brown sugar, 1/4tsp baking powder, 1/4tsp baking soda, 1/2tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 cup melted butter. Mix until it's crumbly and put onto unbaked muffins..) These are so good and the house smells amazing! Definitely feels like Autumn now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly the first time a made it. It made 16 large muffins. The spice was perfect for me, and I don't really like the flavor of cloves. It is not an overly sweet muffin, so its a nice treat to have with tea. I give it 5 stars based on the exact recipe as written with no substitutions. I have now made this recipe 4 times. I have tweaked it to suit my liking each time. It is very versatile. Even with a few experimental substitutes, I haven't had a failed batch yet. I doubled the recipe in my standmixer, and swapped out 1/3 flour for bran. Still Great! I subbed brown sugar for white. Steel GOOOOOOOD! I whipped up a batch of Cream cheese icing and "stuffed" my muffins. I poked a hole in them when they were still warm and piped my icing in the hole. WOWSERS!!!! Do what you want with this recipe, it will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great Recipe. Add 1/4 c. Flax, Sub !/2 Honey for 2C. Sugar, Add bananas as needed for moisture or sugar. Add Raisins and Pumpkin seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I read past reviews on these before making and cut back on the spices by half except for the cinnamon which I kept as the whole amount. These are good, kept their shape nicely and would be good with some nuts. I was going to do a streusel topping but forgot and I am glad I did because the muffins rose nicely. The whole family liked them although they said I could have used the original spice amounts called for. I will be making these again using the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
LOVED THEM! Moist... so easy - I divided the oil in half and used half applesauce... yummy... I'm going to try again and use cranberries along with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe did not make 12 muffins. Unfortunately, I followed the recipe exactly, despite the initial disbelief. I don't even know where to start with these. First of all the timing is wrong, mine needed about 6 more minutes - and then the edges were getting a bit too brown so I took them out. This led to a couple of the middle muffins, collapsing since the middle wasn't completely done. Taste-wise, WAY TOO MUCH SPICE. Seriously, can't taste the pumpkin at all. Also, incredibly oily. I dont care too much about ingredients, health-wise, but these were way too oily. major disappointment all around really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
We cannot obtain canned pumpkin here and I only had half the fresh pumpkin the recipe called for so I halved all the ingredients except used 1 egg plus 1/3 cup plain yogurt (and I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour with 1 cup regular all-purpose flour instead of 1.5 cups all purpose flour) and they still turned out nicely. This is a good basic recipe that smells delicious, looks attractive and tastes good. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States