Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
delicious!! but i altered the recipe i subsituted a cup of flour for a cup of oats and used applesauce instead of oil. Only used 1.5 cups of sugar and skippped the allSpice and cloves its moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made with kids this morning and it worked out great. Following the comments, I reduced the cloves etc - the quantities shown do look like way too much. I kept the full amount of cinnamon, but used only 1/4 tsp of cloves and 1/4 of nutmeg (no allspice here). A bit of ginger would probably be nice as well. Used 2 cups of frozen homemade pumpkin, thawed in advance. Baked in muffin tins - perfectly done in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Second time making these and they were again delicious. The first time I did it as is ,this time around, I made them "healthier" by replacing oil with homemade unsweetened apple sauce but still added a table spoon of omega 3 veggie oil.I reduced sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup craisins. End result was delicious but I think I will keep oil to 1/3 cup and the apple sauce to a 1/3 cup since I found the mini muffin paper cups tended to stick to the baked muffins when the oil wasn't used. Yielded 48 mini muffins .Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Good muffins. I used 2 cups canned pumpkin. Also substituted about 1/2 c oil with apple sauce and made up the remaining 2/3 c with olive oil. I used spices as in recipe and would keep that the same. If you don't like cloves, maybe could drop to 1 t. But otherwise not sure why others dropped the spices. I also added some dark chocolate chips which was tasty. Could definitely add nuts if you like that. I got 16 muffins total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I used half the cloves and nutmeg and added a quarter tsp ginger, used 1 cup brown sugar lightly packed, and omitted oil and used 1 cup applesauce, and went for two cups flour one cup oats. The seasoning was awesome, the consistency was great, but as someone who doesn't like sweets, these are still not sweet enough. I think I'd try again with white sugar and more of it. It really just tastes like spicy bread. I really can't imagine these with more cloves- such an intense flavor, I think it would overpower all other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I wasn't sure about this but it turned out beautifully! The muffins were really light and fluffy. Recipe made about 22 muffins. Pumpkin cooked in the hot oven in less than one hour. I used mixed spice not allspice and added a pinch of ginger. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
We really enjoyed these and have made them a few times now. I would add a strusel topping with oats next time, but this is more for my husbands taste and request. I do add vanilla (I almost always add vanilla to sweet baked goods) and use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I have also made these with my own baked pumpkin (which was frozen from the previous year) and with canned...both are good. I would not change out the oil for applesauce...really rubbery and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These muffins are amazing!! Love this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe and my first thought was that there was way too much cloves and nutmeg. I reduced the amounts before the first batch and they were very tasty. I also changed the oil to unsweetened applesauce. They are plenty moist and fluffy. I will use this recipe again with those changes. Also, I stuffed the middle with cream cheese,hmmm! 4 oz. Cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon. Spoon half amount of batter into the baking cups, add one tsp. Of cream cheese mixture, and spoon more batter on top. Add a minute or two to your baking time. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a super recipie! I added a bit more pumpkin puree and cut the sugar nearly in half (1 1/8c. I also added 3 tsp of flax seed and 1 tsp of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States