Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sally Knox
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T except that I used canned pumpkin puree. There is way too much spice in these muffins and the flavor almost burns your tongue. The aroma is wonderful, but the spice is overwhelming and I could not taste any pumpkin. The muffins rose to a beautiful peak and I topped with a streusel topping. I will half the nutmeg and add a little ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Knox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Iowa, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this recipe as directed, except I cut the servings down to 8 since I only had two eggs on hand. Even with cutting down the recipe it still made 10 fairly large muffins. The muffins were moist and had a spice cake flavor that my family loves. I especially liked that it did not taste like pumpkin pie. Thank you Julie for a wonderful recipe that even my picky eaters like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Ok, so I baked these today and I have to say that the batter was dry, however, I added extra puree (yes, I cheated and used the canned version) and I substituted 1 cup of sugar for 1 cup of brown sugar and it was a hit! I think next time I will also add a bit of condensed milk and see if that helps moisten the batter. I also don't let it cook the full time, I find that they are softer when you take them out of the oven a bit short of the cooking time and let them sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by accidental housewife
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used jumbo muffin tins, a double recipe made about 18 muffins and baked at about 40 minutes. I also added raisins and was generous with the spice. Oh my, these were decadent, spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental housewife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. Took some liberties with the recipe.... cut the recipe in half, only used 1/2 cup of sugar, some whole wheat flour, in place of the half an egg, I added a bit of yogurt and some milled flax seed. I also didn't have enough pumpkin, so I rounded out the quantity wih mashed banana. Added chcocolate chips too. Got 13 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
It seemed like the recipe called for an aweful lot of sugar. I used 1 3/4 c instead of 2, not wanting to tweak it too much without trying it first. It was good. The spice amounts seemed way excessive, especially for my young boys. I used the cinnamon and salt as written and cut the rest in 1/2. The result was the perfect amount of spice. I used 1/2 applesauce/1/2 oil. UPDATE: I made this again with the same modifications and a crumb top. Super! Made the crumb top using 2/3 cup packed brown sugar 3/4 cup rolled oats 1/2 cup all-purpose flour 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 6 tablespoons butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe is great. I substituted demerara sugar for the white sugar, used one 15 oz can of pumpkin instead of the fresh, and added a teaspoon of ginger to the mix of spices. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made these gluten free, with 3 cups of all-purpose gluten free flour and 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum replacing the 3 cups of all-purpose wheat flour. Also used 2 cups of canned pumpkin puree. They are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I really liked it and it is kid-kitchen friendly. My daughter (8) helped me bake and eat them ;) We also added fresh ginger. I squeezed it through a garlic press...ahh, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States