Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
More of a cupcake than a muffin, it was for a birthday so I added white chocolate chips (2/3 of a 226g bag in the batter and the rest I put on top of the warm muffin so the heat of the cake made them stick). I also added 2 tsp of powdered ginger and used only 1 tsp of clove. oh and most importantly, I used sweet potato and carrot purée. Moist and delicious! I made 25 tennis ball sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
We make these all the time - love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Everyone in the family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Weckesser Hall
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Tried this- used 1/2 cup less sugar and added 2T molasses and about 1t extra ginger and allspice. Yummy! i think next time I'll do with seeds or nuts for a heartier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made them with all purpose gluten free flour and oats. I used only one cup of sugar and applesauce in place of oil like suggested. I did sprinkle the tops with a little cinnamon before baking. They came out great!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I thought it was a five-star recipe, but I made some modifications that other reviewers did. I did whole wheat flour and rolled oats instead of white flour, and I did one cup white sugar and 3/4 cup maple syrup. I also ran out of half the cinnamon, and I only put in 1/4 tsp cloves and 1 tsp nutmeg, and I didn't put in allspice because I didn't have any. I also threw in 3/4 tsp vanilla. The muffins were plenty sweet - I might even cut the maple syrup to 1/2 cup next time. I also used butternut squash instead of the pumpkin, although I'm sure pumpkin would be just as good. The muffins came out very sticky - I don't think the oats absorb as much of the liquid as the flour does, so I had to add more flour after the first round of muffins. Overall, this is a great base recipe, and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I shouldn't review this recipe because I did make a few changes to it...but, here goes. I loved it with my changes. Halved the recipe and still got 12 muffins. Used 3/4 c. canned pumpkin and the rest in apple butter to make up the difference to equal 1 full cup. Because of the reviews stating the spices were too heavy, I put in 1/4 t. cloves, 1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg, and 1/4 t. allspice. Used 1 jumbo egg and everything else as written. Added some raisins and 1/2 c. toasted chopped walnuts. Sprinkled with course sugar on top before baking...excellent! One more change, I had a bit of whole wheat flour left in the bag and wanted to use it up...1/4 c. of the flour was substituted with whole wheat flour. A lot of changes, not exactly like the recipe, I know. But this made a great pumpkin muffin that produced a better muffin than the one written in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made these muffins exactly as called for, using fresh pureed pumpkin I had in my freezer. They turned out wonderful. I used regular sized muffin tins and this made a total of 20 good sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Good starter recipe. I read some reviews and combined some suggestions. I used one can of pure pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, used 2 cups flour and 1 cup rolled oats. Cut the cloves way back. The muffins turned out ok. Nice texture. Not at all sweet, but a nice flavor. Next time will add a bit more sweetness. Recipe is easily adjusted to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
It is even more flavorful and healthy if you substitute coconut oil for the vegetable oil and use 1/4 cup Chia seeds & 1/4 cup walnuts; omitting 1/2 cup flour I also swapped out 1 cup of white sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar and some honey. Still has lots of sugar but sticks to the ribs with healthy fats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States