Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
These are very good as is but can be VERY "heart healthy" without sacrificing taste with these changes: replace white flour with 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup rolled oats; Replace oil one for one with applesauce; replace eggs with egg beaters (1/4 cup per egg). I used canned pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice (6 teaspoons) to replace the other spices; and decrease sugar to 3/4 cup. This recipe will make 24 "normal" sized muffins that are about 100 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
616 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I cheated and used canned pumpkin in place of the fresh and the muffins were moist with just the right amount of spice. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Insanely delicious muffins! My husband isn't a terribly big fan of pumpkin, and even he found them irresistible. I used 15 oz canned pumpkin like others suggested, and cut all the spices but the cinnamon in half. I substituted whole wheat flour for regular, Egg Beaters for the eggs, and used a 1/2 Splenda/ 1/2 sugar blend for the sugar. I also added 1 cup chocolate chips and an oatmeal streusel topping. Someone called these "coffeehouse quality" and I absolutely agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Great recipe! I made it healthier by using 2 cups unbleached flour + 1 cup rolled oats, used applesauce instead of oil, and only put in 2 eggs. Also used canned pumpkin. Turned out awesome! Kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was very good, I did tweak it to my own taste, I cut the cloves and nutmeg in half, but left the cinnamon and allspice the same. I used 2 cups of canned pumpkin and topped them with an oatmeal streusel topping (3/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon,1/2 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup rolled oats, and 1/2 cup melted butter) they were fantastic. For my own "notes" the recipe yielded 18 muffins, and they took approximately 35 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I'm making these again today! Used whole wheat,flax and spelt flour as we don't use white flour anymore. 1/2'd the sugar,added some apple sauce, some pineapple juice and cheated with canned pumpkin. I think I added some honey. As you can see, very versatile. Using whole wheat flour makes them very filling. For people on the go that want a quick healthy breakfast, that stays with you until lunch, this is perfect. My husband and children all loved these (even though they were good for them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME. Perfect taste, perfect texture--just like what you might find in a restaurant. I cut the recipe in half (used 2 eggs), and it still made 10 large muffins! I also used a little less cloves and allspice than recommended so that it wouldn't be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
These are GREAT! Just what I was looking for - a pumpkin muffin that doesn't need added things like raisens, nuts or chips to taste good - this is IT! I used 1 cup wheat flour and 2 cups white flour. Kids loved them too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
We enjoyed these. I used whole wheat four and 1/2 the sugar. Very good & moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Really good! I didn't have any allspice or cloves, and I only had 2 eggs, but it still tasted great. Just double the cinnamon and add 1t of extra nutmeg, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States