Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Second time making these and they were again delicious. The first time I did it as is ,this time around, I made them "healthier" by replacing oil with homemade unsweetened apple sauce but still added a table spoon of omega 3 veggie oil.I reduced sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup craisins. End result was delicious but I think I will keep oil to 1/3 cup and the apple sauce to a 1/3 cup since I found the mini muffin paper cups tended to stick to the baked muffins when the oil wasn't used. Yielded 48 mini muffins .Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Good muffins. I used 2 cups canned pumpkin. Also substituted about 1/2 c oil with apple sauce and made up the remaining 2/3 c with olive oil. I used spices as in recipe and would keep that the same. If you don't like cloves, maybe could drop to 1 t. But otherwise not sure why others dropped the spices. I also added some dark chocolate chips which was tasty. Could definitely add nuts if you like that. I got 16 muffins total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I used half the cloves and nutmeg and added a quarter tsp ginger, used 1 cup brown sugar lightly packed, and omitted oil and used 1 cup applesauce, and went for two cups flour one cup oats. The seasoning was awesome, the consistency was great, but as someone who doesn't like sweets, these are still not sweet enough. I think I'd try again with white sugar and more of it. It really just tastes like spicy bread. I really can't imagine these with more cloves- such an intense flavor, I think it would overpower all other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I wasn't sure about this but it turned out beautifully! The muffins were really light and fluffy. Recipe made about 22 muffins. Pumpkin cooked in the hot oven in less than one hour. I used mixed spice not allspice and added a pinch of ginger. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
We really enjoyed these and have made them a few times now. I would add a strusel topping with oats next time, but this is more for my husbands taste and request. I do add vanilla (I almost always add vanilla to sweet baked goods) and use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I have also made these with my own baked pumpkin (which was frozen from the previous year) and with canned...both are good. I would not change out the oil for applesauce...really rubbery and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These muffins are amazing!! Love this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe and my first thought was that there was way too much cloves and nutmeg. I reduced the amounts before the first batch and they were very tasty. I also changed the oil to unsweetened applesauce. They are plenty moist and fluffy. I will use this recipe again with those changes. Also, I stuffed the middle with cream cheese,hmmm! 4 oz. Cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon. Spoon half amount of batter into the baking cups, add one tsp. Of cream cheese mixture, and spoon more batter on top. Add a minute or two to your baking time. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is a super recipie! I added a bit more pumpkin puree and cut the sugar nearly in half (1 1/8c. I also added 3 tsp of flax seed and 1 tsp of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
LOVED these! I really enjoyed the spice level (they are super spiced) but I can understand the desire to cut the spices back a bit. I've made it several times now, and I like them best when I cut the nutmeg back to 1 1/2 tsps and the allspice back to 1/2 tsp. I followed another reviewer's advice and replaced one of the cups of flour with a cup of rolled oats, and they sort of blend into the muffins as they cook, so they turn out very tender but with just a bit more structure. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups because I like my muffins not so sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I thought this was a very good recipe. After reading other reviews, I used 1 cup white all purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup rolled oats. I also only used 2/3 cup sugar. I used one can of pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling, just canned pumpkin) and it only had 2 1/2 cups of pumpkin in it, so I added 1/2 cup applesauce to make up for the difference. I also replaced half of the oil with applesauce. And, I added 1/2 cup golden raisins and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts for added flavor. With these changes, I was afraid the muffins would turn out gummy - but to my surprise, they did not! They were very substantial - tall and sturdy, but still moist. My kids gobbled them up! I got about 19 muffins from this recipe. After baking, I put some aside for breakfast and then froze the rest. I usually freeze muffins and then put them in a plastic bag in the morning and put them in my kids' lunches. By the time snack time rolls around, they have thawed and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States