Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My family really enjoyed the muffins. I thought 25 minutes was too long. I used an insulated muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anne Arn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Super! What else can I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Decent recipe. I added a bit of a streusel to it, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made these gluten free!!!! Although, I made these muffins with a lot of changes, I mainly followed the recipe as a guideline! If you can bake, you can alter these and have them come out fantastic! I didn't have fresh pumpkin so I used a can of pure pumpkin, and didn't have quite two cups so I subbed in applesauce. I subbed the white sugar for organic raw sugar and cut down on that by about 2/3 of a cup and increased with MORE applesauce. I wasn't done there with the applesauce, I also replaced the oil with applesauce!!! I used all the spices so you could get more "autumn" flavour. I wanted to make them hearty so in my gluten free flour blend I also used ground pumpkin seeds, ground flax seeds and ground oats. I used 1/4 cup un-ground rolled oats as well. This recipe does make 24, not 12. I made 12 without a topping and 12 with a topping. The topping was AMAZING and turned the muffins into more of a dessert than a snack. I made the topping with rolled oats, walnut pieces, demarara sugar and coconut oil. I wanted to keep this recipe dairy free so I didn't use chunks of butter like you normally would in a crumble type topping. I got the most rave reviews out of any other muffin I've ever made!! People that don't eat gluten free, dairy free, said they were hands down, the BEST muffin they've EVER HAD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Oh my gosh these are awesome! I used a 15oz can of pumpkin puree for the sugar pumpkin. I decreased the cloves to a few dashes because cloves can be overwhelming. I was out of allspice so I added a dash of ginger. I used half white and half brown sugar because I didn't have the full amount of white sugar called for. This recipe makes 24 muffins not 12 as stated. This is a fantastic recipe and would make great pumpkin bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I think if I had left the recipe as it was written, it would have tasted like a spice rack, personally. I modded it to the following: 2C canned puree (no access to a sugar pumpkin in Feb!) 1tsp cloves 2tsp cinnamon 1tsp nutmeg ½tsp ginger (in place of allspice) ½C of raisins Baked for 22mins in my gas oven was perfect for a moist and delicious muffins that go over big time here with my husband and my 5yo picky son. Next time I may sub ½ the AP Flour for WW flour and sub applesauce for the oil. I might even add a whole cup of raisins since I prefer to have them in every bite! It's also possible to sub flaxseed for the egg if you're looking to go vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartruiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great muffin recipe. I followed exactly as I have Crohn's and cannot eat anything other than white flour. I made these a second/third time and substituted 2 cups of applesauce for the pumpkin. Delicious, moist and gone fast! Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These turned out very yummy w/ a few healthier alterations. I used 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/3 oil instead of all oil, added a cup of chopped walnuts and used 1 c. Whole wheat flour instead of 1 c. all-purpose. I also reduced spices by 1/2 except for the cinnamon. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made these for my boyfriend and he ate the whole batch in one day! They are the perfect blend of spice and sweetness. Very moist as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These muffins are great, and even better the day after. They also freeze well. I use whole grain flour and top them with an oatmeal streusel topping, and sometimes put hulled pumkin seeds, chocolate chips or walnuts on top. My kids just love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States