Pumpkin Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This has become a seasonal favorite in my home. It makes a great breakfast treat with coffee. The texture seems odd at first, so odd that you have to keep eating it until suddenly you realize you've eaten half the pan and you still want more! I add 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, which seems to cut the sweetness a touch and make it even more like pumpkin pie and spice cake had a delicious, gooey baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Call it Mochi. Call it cake. Call it whatever you want, just as long as you save me a big ol' hunk of it. I just made this on a whim to see if it might be something to have on Thursday and couldn't be more pleased with how it turned out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
It was really good. Kinda like eating a cake only it was mochi-like-chewy. I would call it cake rather than mochi though. But overall great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
my friend makes a similar mochi cake with cherry pie filling, which is amazing. i wanted to do this holiday version for thanksgiving, but used a little less sugar (~1 3/4 c.) and a little more vanilla (~2 1/2 tsp). i added ~3/4 of the pie filling to the batter before pouring it into the pan, but spooned the rest on top & ran a plastic knife back & forth to create a marbleized look. i also cut the cake into 48 little squares & served them in cupcake papers (the way my friend does w/ the cherry mochi). it's a pretty dense cake & esp at thanksgiving w/ so many desserts available, you only need a little bite (you can always get seconds!) it turned out really well & next time i'd just leave it in the oven for 5 more min to let the pumpkin on top set a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
When it first comes out of the oven and it's still warm, you won't think it's mochi at all, but just gooey cake......delicious, yes, but not very mochi-like. well give it lots of time to cool off, and it'll reach a much more mochi-like texture. not exactly like mochi but very close and very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was fun and different. I wouldn't call it mochi though, it was basically just a cake. But good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Love all kinds of mochi....pumpkin being one of my favorites! The recipe was PERFECT. Only problem I have is wanting to eat the entire pan.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great recipe. It tastes like fluffy, slightly chewy, bread. I don't taste as much pumpkin as I had expected, but that's not the recipe's fault. It tastes fairly light for all that sugar included in the recipe! I would recommend watching the baking time. Although I did 9 servings instead of the recipe's 12, only 15-20 minutes passed before it started slightly burning (btw it tastes better when its brown)- it doesn't taste burnt, its just more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I wasn't quit sure what to expect, and this was ok. I had mochiko I wanted to use up and came across this recipe. It's fairly easy to make. I did improvise because I only had a 15 oz can of pumpkin, so I used applesauce with it to make up for the difference. Also, I used oil instead of butter because I didn't have enough of that either. Maybe it would've been better if I had stuck to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is excellent. I healthified it in a few ways- used half splenda, egg whites, and applesauce (1 cup for a half recipe) with 1 tbsp of butter. Still turned out moist and delicious, my Korean husband was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States