Pumpkin Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this exactly by the recipe and absolutely loved it. My daughter in law and grand daughter have Celiacs and have to eat gluten free, so I made this for a family gathering. Everyone loved it and ate it up. I preferred it chilled, the rest of the family ate it at room temperature. A little doll up of whipped cream would be nice on top, but no one wanted to wait for the cream to be whipped. I will make this again at Thanksgiving. I would take this over pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is REALLY GOOD! It's pretty easy to make and tastes like a pumpkin cake with the famous mochi flour consistency! It is good hot out of the oven or the next day too - as it cools, it gets a bit chewier. I will definitely make this again! Would love to substitute all that butter for something else, but not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexBell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It looked and smelled like Fall when it came out of the oven--beautiful brown, cake-looking and smelling of spices of a pumpkin pie, with nice crisp edges! I was afraid of the gooey mochi, but baking it at the right temperature made it the perfect consistency. A great twist on a pumpkin recipe. I will be bringing this to holiday parties this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mare
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Saw this in the AllRecipes magazine, and wanted to try it. Loved it!! I didn't even realize that I made a mistake by using only a 15oz can of pumpkin puree (instead of 29oz) because it turned out very good! Light and chewy, but not an intense pumpkin flavor. Still yummy! My young son loved it. We ate it for breakfast and snacked on it all day. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Chewy and delicious! Love pumpkin and love mochi; perfect combination. I used less sugar, though, and added the spices I normally use in pumpkin pie (ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I dont really care for pumpkin but this came out really good. the only problem i had was my mochi didnt cook all the way through. i dont know if its the kind of pan that i used ( disposable aluminum foil pan) or the size. but otherwise the taste was awesome. will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and very easy to follow! I made this for a class project and everyone loved it; I didn't have any to take home with me afterward, which disappointed me since it was so good, but made me very happy at the same time since I'm still a beginner cook. My mom accidentally bought white rice flour instead of the glutinous rice flour, not knowing there was a difference... I made it with the white rice flour and added some cinnamon (not much) and it was still excellent! I'm going to try to make this with the glutinous rice flour as well, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
AMAZING!!! Half cake, half mochi. Added pumpkin spice and cinnamon for a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejay Tom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Yum!! Everyone went crazy about this at Thanksgiving. Delicious. I made cinnamon ice cream which was the perfect accompaniment. The only change I'd make would be to decrease baking time. Start paying close attention to yours about halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had never heard of this but needed something to bring to a Japan-themed potluck. It was like a very moist cake. I don't know if I would make it for fun but for a themed dinner it was excellent. They only change I made was to use about half the amount of butter called for because it was all I had. It turned out beautifully regardless so if you want to reduce the fat go ahead and cut down the butter. I did really like the pumpkin aspect of it. Make sure you bake it till it's not jiggly or it comes out kinda gooey and oddly textured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States