Pumpkin Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and very easy to follow! I made this for a class project and everyone loved it; I didn't have any to take home with me afterward, which disappointed me since it was so good, but made me very happy at the same time since I'm still a beginner cook. My mom accidentally bought white rice flour instead of the glutinous rice flour, not knowing there was a difference... I made it with the white rice flour and added some cinnamon (not much) and it was still excellent! I'm going to try to make this with the glutinous rice flour as well, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
AMAZING!!! Half cake, half mochi. Added pumpkin spice and cinnamon for a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Yum!! Everyone went crazy about this at Thanksgiving. Delicious. I made cinnamon ice cream which was the perfect accompaniment. The only change I'd make would be to decrease baking time. Start paying close attention to yours about halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I had never heard of this but needed something to bring to a Japan-themed potluck. It was like a very moist cake. I don't know if I would make it for fun but for a themed dinner it was excellent. They only change I made was to use about half the amount of butter called for because it was all I had. It turned out beautifully regardless so if you want to reduce the fat go ahead and cut down the butter. I did really like the pumpkin aspect of it. Make sure you bake it till it's not jiggly or it comes out kinda gooey and oddly textured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N0Mx3
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I grew up eating butter mochi. This tasted the same for me. I couldn't taste the pumpkin in this, maybe adding the pumpkin spice as another reviewer states or cinnamon if you're looking for a pumpkin pie taste. It was still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N0Mx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Love all kinds of mochi....pumpkin being one of my favorites! The recipe was PERFECT. Only problem I have is wanting to eat the entire pan.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This has become a seasonal favorite in my home. It makes a great breakfast treat with coffee. The texture seems odd at first, so odd that you have to keep eating it until suddenly you realize you've eaten half the pan and you still want more! I add 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, which seems to cut the sweetness a touch and make it even more like pumpkin pie and spice cake had a delicious, gooey baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
First, I want to say that my attempt at making this was a super fail, yet it turned out really nicely anyway. I bought the wrong size pumpkin can, 15 instead of 29, then I added a cup of water instead of a cup of butter. I lowered the sugar amount too but that was intentional. Still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I wasn't quit sure what to expect, and this was ok. I had mochiko I wanted to use up and came across this recipe. It's fairly easy to make. I did improvise because I only had a 15 oz can of pumpkin, so I used applesauce with it to make up for the difference. Also, I used oil instead of butter because I didn't have enough of that either. Maybe it would've been better if I had stuck to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
my friend makes a similar mochi cake with cherry pie filling, which is amazing. i wanted to do this holiday version for thanksgiving, but used a little less sugar (~1 3/4 c.) and a little more vanilla (~2 1/2 tsp). i added ~3/4 of the pie filling to the batter before pouring it into the pan, but spooned the rest on top & ran a plastic knife back & forth to create a marbleized look. i also cut the cake into 48 little squares & served them in cupcake papers (the way my friend does w/ the cherry mochi). it's a pretty dense cake & esp at thanksgiving w/ so many desserts available, you only need a little bite (you can always get seconds!) it turned out really well & next time i'd just leave it in the oven for 5 more min to let the pumpkin on top set a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States