Pumpkin Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Hubby and I love mochi -- Hawaii-style mochi, that is, which is sweeter and richer than classic Japanese style mochi. I'm sensitive to gluten and corn, so it's a safe dessert for me. I had a pumpkin mochi recipe years ago but lost it, so I was happy to find this one. When I made it, I added pumpkin pie spices, which made it exactly like the one I remember. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I love making this during the fall season when there are tons of various kinds of pumpkin and pumpkin like vegetables? laying around. I like using fresh pumpkins or squash to make 'em. At first people are apprehensive about the funky little things, but usually once they start eating they don't stop until they realize it's all gone. I usually bake them in cupcake tins as well, so they come out already bite sized and ready to serve. Happy cooking all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone really enjoyed it. Though it was a bit too sweet for me. But it became less sweet after I let the leftovers sit in the frig overnight. Will probably try using half the amount of sugar or maybe substitute something else for the sweetened condensed milk. Still a very tasty treat. I'm going to adjust the proportions a bit or sub out somethings. Have to wait til I finish what's left of the current batch of mochi before experimenting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celestial.D7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda Stock Briscoe
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made both a 13x9 and got 9 cupcake size. Used my fresh Thanksgiving Pumkin to make my own fresh pumpkin puree. Following directions exactly, but the individual size cupcakes, I cooked 30 minutes only......Quite DELISH, and Quite Simple! Thanks, may be my New Thanksgiving Tradition! ;*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Stock Briscoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Pikala, thank you for sharing your recipe! We lived in Japan for five years and traditionally pounded the mochi every year. It's a long, arduous and sometimes dangerous tradition. This five star pumpkin mochi is unbelievably delicious and quick to make. I'm always asked for the recipe and friends here in Hawaii just can't believe how easy it is to make! Many mahalos and domo arigato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
My whole family loved it! I have two difficult to please daughters and they love it. I added pumpkin pie spice, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
You definitely can't go wrong using this recipe! We all love this- it's soft and chewy, with a light pumpkin flavor. Simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used brown rice flour (no gluten) and I added chopped walnuts....OUTSTAnDING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyonkasson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and some freshly grated nutmeg before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Out of this world. Everyone who tries this just loves it. I've made it twice. The second time the only thing I changed was I halved the recipe in an 8x8 pan. I thought because I was making a half batch that I could just halve the baking time. Not so. It still took nearly an hour to bake (50 minutes). I used glass pans both times and didn't grease them. I didn't have a problem with the mochi sticking. Try this, it's unique and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States