Pumpkin, Kale, and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent, filling supper. I didn't have enough black beans, so I added some navy beans and a can of chick peas. I buy dry beans, so when I cooked them, I tossed in a few chopped cloves of garlic (gets the blood flowin!) left out the ham, vinegar and sorrel and it still turned out GREAT! Also substituted veggie stock for beef and butternut squash for pumpkin. great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made some substitutions - 2 pkg. frozen squash instead of the pumpkin (much quicker and easier), and spinach instead of kale. Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
OMG! This soup is soooo good! I took it to a pot luck and everyone loved it. Even my 3 year old liked it. My husband says it will be something he looks forward to every fall. I used fire roasted tomatoes because that's all I had but if anything I think that made the soup tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINNAMONB3
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Very good! I used vegetable broth and left the ham on the side for my guests. I also added cumin and coriander like another reviewer did. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNAMONB3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is an easy, delicious recipe my whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Really, really good! I used chicken broth and diced cooked chicken instead of beef broth and diced ham. Also, it has cream sherry AND white wine vinegar, 2T of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I love love this soup. I never grew up eating pumpkin, kale, or beans but wanted an interesting dish I could make and eat all week. After discovering this recipe, I have made it with ham, turkey ham, and chicken. All have turned out great. However, if you make it with chicken, you will need to add more salt. As suggested, I used one large can of 100% pumpkin puree out of the cake and baking isle of the store (much simpler than cutting up a pumpkin). I also buy the bag of pre-chopped kale greens rather than buying it then having to split and cut it.I never use sorrel or vinegar...mostly because I don't have any at home. It always turns out great. This is a healthy, hearty soup that is perfect for a cold winter day. Since it is just me at home, I freeze half of it and then put it in the refrigerator to thaw when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was great! I added a little cumin and coriander and that worked well. The squash ended up a little overcooked. I guess i left it on too long at the end, or perhaps you could wait and add the squash later. In any case it was very tasty and my man loved it. I chose a ham with a bit of a smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Hearty, delicious fall soup. I subbed in butternut squash and red wine vinegar and omitted sorrel (since I've never even heard of it). I also added couple cups of water near the end thinking it needed more broth. I will make again and try some of the other alternatives suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Perfect for fall! Had a carry in at work and even those who thought it sounded too "healthy" were complimenting me! It's so delicious!! Thank you Always Cooking Up Something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States