Pumpkin, Kale, and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Hearty, delicious fall soup. I subbed in butternut squash and red wine vinegar and omitted sorrel (since I've never even heard of it). I also added couple cups of water near the end thinking it needed more broth. I will make again and try some of the other alternatives suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Perfect for fall! Had a carry in at work and even those who thought it sounded too "healthy" were complimenting me! It's so delicious!! Thank you Always Cooking Up Something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Great recipe. I use the pre-packaged butternut squash from Trader Joes rather than pumpkin and I use 1 lb. of extra lean (4% fat) ground beef rather than pork so it ends up being low-fat, low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Great recipe for the fall. I went to use my Cinderella pumpkin but it was bad so I used a butternut squash and it was delicious! I also used low sodium chicken broth since I didn't have beef broth on hand. And used some kielbasa instead of ham. I will definitely make this again and again. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Followed others advice and added pureed pumpkin, cumin, and coriander. This was a flavorful and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Fantastic hearty soup, we have 5 kids and the whole family loved it, even our 11 month old! I used chicken stock instead of beef and sausage instead of ham because that's what we had on hand. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I love love this soup. I never grew up eating pumpkin, kale, or beans but wanted an interesting dish I could make and eat all week. After discovering this recipe, I have made it with ham, turkey ham, and chicken. All have turned out great. However, if you make it with chicken, you will need to add more salt. As suggested, I used one large can of 100% pumpkin puree out of the cake and baking isle of the store (much simpler than cutting up a pumpkin). I also buy the bag of pre-chopped kale greens rather than buying it then having to split and cut it.I never use sorrel or vinegar...mostly because I don't have any at home. It always turns out great. This is a healthy, hearty soup that is perfect for a cold winter day. Since it is just me at home, I freeze half of it and then put it in the refrigerator to thaw when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINNAMONB3
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Very good! I used vegetable broth and left the ham on the side for my guests. I also added cumin and coriander like another reviewer did. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNAMONB3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Really, really good! I used chicken broth and diced cooked chicken instead of beef broth and diced ham. Also, it has cream sherry AND white wine vinegar, 2T of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was great! I added a little cumin and coriander and that worked well. The squash ended up a little overcooked. I guess i left it on too long at the end, or perhaps you could wait and add the squash later. In any case it was very tasty and my man loved it. I chose a ham with a bit of a smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States