Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hklinger
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
***I have to upgrade my review to five stars. I made this pie twice for two family gatherings and both raved about it. The recipe calls for waaay too much ice cream- enough to make two pies. I just stored the extra ice cream mixture in a plastic container with a piece of waxed paper beneath the lid to stop ice crystals from forming. This pie makes great leftovers and the only hard part is transferring the pie without it melting. I recommend an ice chest or cold-thermal bag with ice packs. This is a sure-fire pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I tried this with a commercially made shortbread cookie-type crust, and it was really good! Quick and easy to make, but must allow time to freeze it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a different wonderful pumpkin pie to serve. I made this years ago but instead of the graham cracker crust I lined the pie pan with gingersnaps. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Delicious! I served it half thawed and it was amazing. I use the crust recipe for other pies now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I make this pie now every holiday season. It is the best twist on a standard pumpkin pie that I've ever found. Everyone I know LOVES this pie; and it's so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Not serving this ice cream pie at Thanksgiving from now on, would be like not serving turkey! I used a ready made graham cracker crust, which I brushed with an egg white and put in the oven for a few minutes to crisp, and then followed the directions. I made a caramel sauce by melting 1 stick of butter over medium heat, adding 1 cup sugar and stirring until a deep golden brown. I added 1 cup whipping cream and whisked until smooth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Yummy! Just make sure to let the pie thaw first until you can easily cut and serve it. Top with Cool Whip like traditional pumpkin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
It's Fall, and I was in the mood for pumpkin pie but wanted something light, and this dessert fit the bill. It is so good--my family loved it! It's creamy and very delicately spiced and still has that wonderful pumpkin flavor. In place of the orange juice, I used maple syrup. To serve I drizzled hershey's new Dulce de Leche syrup over it and the flavor combo was amazing. Thank you for an excellent recipe Nancy--it is a great year-round dessert & would be perfect for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great new add for Thanksgiving dinner - love the frostiness of the ice cream with the pumpkin pie flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe was good, but made too much. Few people chose this desert at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLEHNIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States