Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I found this to be very bland, even with the pumpkin spices. But in fairness, I did start with a plain store-bought hummus instead of making it by scratch. I prefer hummus that's really garlic-y though, and since I didn't think that tons of garlic would go well with pumpkin, I bought a plain flavor. The spices and pumpkin puree didn't really add enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This recipe was surprisingly good! The guests we made this for absolutely loved it, and were very taken by the harmony of flavors. My wife and I will definitely experiment with cumin and cayenne like others here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannyyamamotojr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Oh, man how I love hummus, and I've never been able to get it just exactly right when making it at home. That changed with this recipe! I gave this 5 stars with the admission that I didn't care much for the pumpkin pie spices and will not use them next time I make this. I divided the ingredients into 2 batches because it wouldn't all fit in my blender, but forgot the spices with the first. It tasted divine! Next go-round I remembered the spice, but was disappointed in the result. I didn't bother adding spice to the other half, so the flavor was diluted by the time I combined the mixtures. To further cover it up, I added a couple dashes of cayenne and paprika. OMG this was spectacular! The pumpkin flavor is VERY subtle, but adds a creamy texture and richness that definitely makes it a worthwhile addition. (Healthy, too!). Definitely remember to add salt to taste at the end to help bring out the flavors. You can't believe how much this small addition helps things along! After reading other reviews, I held off on the full 5oz of lemon juice and added it gradually to taste instead. With the omission of the spices, this is now my go-to for hummus. I made this as a dip with pita triangles for a farewell potluck at work, and my biggest challenge will be to stay out of it long enough for my coworkers to get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I make traditional humus all the time and after trying this recipe, the pumpkin is a delicious addition. I used pumpkin puree that I made last Halloween and froze. The pumpkin gives the humus a rich warm color. My family is not big on pumpkin spices (cinnamon, allspice, etc), so I used them sparingly. If you totally omit the spices, the humus tastes like raw pumpkin. I will definitely make this recipe again since I usually have a lot of extra pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
My first experience with homemade hummus (and already looking forward to making it again). We added the extra spices so our hummus definitely had a kick though I didn’t really think it tasted strongly of pumpkin. It’s really important to make sure you have blended the beans to a puree – my boyfriend didn’t quite get there the first time and the consistency was terrible. We added back in a significant amount of the water/liquid and finally got it to the correct consistency. Don’t forget to add salt at the end! I’m not a huge salt person but it definitely needs it (unless you are eating it with salted pita chips). Also – it makes a huge serving (possibly the equivalent of two large tubs of hummus or something along those lines).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Execllent! I was very skeptical, but this turned out to be great t serve as an appetizer for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not care for this recipe mostly because of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. I enjoy more traditional flavors for hummus. Not sure if I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCrazyPam49

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was good hummus, but I think I prefer other flavors. It wasn't a big hit at the Halloween party. Maybe I should have labelled it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I thought it was good, but I'm not sure it's something I would make again. I like other flavors of hummus better. I'm pretty picky about hummus though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for Halloween in an attempt to add a fall flavor to my favorite dip. I love hummus, but I was unimpressed by the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States