Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This recipe was surprisingly good! The guests we made this for absolutely loved it, and were very taken by the harmony of flavors. My wife and I will definitely experiment with cumin and cayenne like others here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannyyamamotojr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Oh, man how I love hummus, and I've never been able to get it just exactly right when making it at home. That changed with this recipe! I gave this 5 stars with the admission that I didn't care much for the pumpkin pie spices and will not use them next time I make this. I divided the ingredients into 2 batches because it wouldn't all fit in my blender, but forgot the spices with the first. It tasted divine! Next go-round I remembered the spice, but was disappointed in the result. I didn't bother adding spice to the other half, so the flavor was diluted by the time I combined the mixtures. To further cover it up, I added a couple dashes of cayenne and paprika. OMG this was spectacular! The pumpkin flavor is VERY subtle, but adds a creamy texture and richness that definitely makes it a worthwhile addition. (Healthy, too!). Definitely remember to add salt to taste at the end to help bring out the flavors. You can't believe how much this small addition helps things along! After reading other reviews, I held off on the full 5oz of lemon juice and added it gradually to taste instead. With the omission of the spices, this is now my go-to for hummus. I made this as a dip with pita triangles for a farewell potluck at work, and my biggest challenge will be to stay out of it long enough for my coworkers to get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I make traditional humus all the time and after trying this recipe, the pumpkin is a delicious addition. I used pumpkin puree that I made last Halloween and froze. The pumpkin gives the humus a rich warm color. My family is not big on pumpkin spices (cinnamon, allspice, etc), so I used them sparingly. If you totally omit the spices, the humus tastes like raw pumpkin. I will definitely make this recipe again since I usually have a lot of extra pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
My first experience with homemade hummus (and already looking forward to making it again). We added the extra spices so our hummus definitely had a kick though I didn’t really think it tasted strongly of pumpkin. It’s really important to make sure you have blended the beans to a puree – my boyfriend didn’t quite get there the first time and the consistency was terrible. We added back in a significant amount of the water/liquid and finally got it to the correct consistency. Don’t forget to add salt at the end! I’m not a huge salt person but it definitely needs it (unless you are eating it with salted pita chips). Also – it makes a huge serving (possibly the equivalent of two large tubs of hummus or something along those lines).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Execllent! I was very skeptical, but this turned out to be great t serve as an appetizer for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not care for this recipe mostly because of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. I enjoy more traditional flavors for hummus. Not sure if I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCrazyPam49

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was good hummus, but I think I prefer other flavors. It wasn't a big hit at the Halloween party. Maybe I should have labelled it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I thought it was good, but I'm not sure it's something I would make again. I like other flavors of hummus better. I'm pretty picky about hummus though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for Halloween in an attempt to add a fall flavor to my favorite dip. I love hummus, but I was unimpressed by the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
YUM! I was skeptical, but I had some leftover roasted pumpkin and the reviews won me over. I couldn't stop eating this! Aside from using fresh pumpkin, the only change I made was to use two cans of chickpeas. The best way I can describe the flavor is like a savory eggnog (weird, I know). And the texture is so smooth and creamy--the smoothest I've ever made. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States