Pumpkin Hummus, Caramelized Onion and Fontina Cheese Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made this recipe forgetting to put apples in it... and it was still awesome. My hubby said it was in the top five pizzas he has ever had. He was my guinea pig for sampling possibly Halloween Party recipes. It will definitely be served! We love it, it was just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matheson, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used whole-wheat pre-baked pizza crusts and substituted prochuttio for the bacon and it was delicious! I made the pizzas for a Halloween party and everyone raved. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This sure sounded good, but OMG! I couldn't find fontina, so used gouda and used whole wheat pitas instead of lavash. I also used prosciutto too, but bacon would be just as good. Oh - and if you are lazy like me, the apples are fine with the skin on. So yummy - and good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this for church and it was a BIG HIT. I mixed a small can of pumkin with a small container of hummus. I used 2 pre-made thin-crust pizza shells similiar to foccacia in that they had herbs already added. Everything else was the same except the cheese...couldn't find fontina so I used some grated sharp chedder. So happy this is such a versatile recipe that allows me to substitute and it still turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was AMAZING. I would rate it 10 stars if I could. It was bursting with flavor and the textures really complimented each other. My only gripe was that it took a long time to make - it was worth it though. If you can make the hummus ahead of time that would really help. I can't wait to make this again for a small dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JFoodChef
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Like the other reviews, I really enjoyed the flavors of this dish. I did make a fairly substantial change (as shown in the photo). Instead of lavash bread, I used uncooked pizza dough, topped it with all of the ingredients and threw it in the oven. The finished pizza was delicious! Of course, if you're only going to make one pizza, the ingredients should be scaled down to 1/4 of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is INCREDIBLE! A perfect balance of tangy, sweet, and salty. I made this for our dinner club, and everyone asked for the recipe. I used homemade pizza crust and store bought bacon bits. I made the pumpkin hummus by mixing equal amounts of hummus and canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was SO good and was a huge hit! Like others I used pre-made hummus and just added the pumpkin and spices to it. I used a pre-packaged, rectangular-shaped flatbread that I found in the bakery at Walmart. Since there are so many toppings on this, be sure whatever flatbread you use to bake it a bit before you add the toppings so it can crisp up. I didn't do that so it wasn't as crispy as I would like but everyone still loved it. I had to go to a different local grocery with a good cheese department to find the Fontina cheese. It came in a brick so I had to grate it myself but it was worth it. Melted beautifully and had just the right taste. The combination of these different flavors is really good. Just the right amount of savory and sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent. Was a little skeptical about the ingredients, but they blended together wonderfully. I did have to make my own pumpkin puree and hummus indivuidually but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very unique, love the sweet and savory flavor. They freeze pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States